We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A good, clean, comfortable hotel, centrally located. Stayed for 2 nights and staff were helpful. Small bar and restaurant in hotel, but lots of other places closeby. Beds were very comfortable and room air conditioned/heated.


  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 363 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

First the usual praise - The staff including the chef were, as in all the Premier Inns, friendly cheerful and helpful. The room was spotless and in this newer hotel we liked the pictures on the wall which are different from the usual abstract ones. There were one or two hiccups - we had to ask for marmalade at breakfast and apparently the one medium sized water jug was broken and we were provided with a very large one which seemed odd! There was no "Do not disturb" card in our room and only one set of towels. None of this detracted from the enjoyment of our stay but maybe attention to detail could be improved. However what we disliked intensely was the smart new automatic self check-in. One of the excellent things about Premier Inns is the friendly greeting and efficient way the staff deal with check in - the personal touch is now missing. It also took twice as long with the machine because we had to do it twice as our room wasn't ready and then a further time was taken to book meals on the computer. The staff told us that only the new hotels were going to use this system so we shall try to visit the older ones. However we shall continue to recommend Premier Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthjohn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fantastic value for money. Spotless and comfortable room. Have paid over £100 in other hotels and this room was by far better. Had an event in Haigh hall and was £6 in a taxi from the hotel. Was very close to Wigan night life. Would recommend to anybody without a hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

One of the most impressive aspects of this Premier Inn (as generally you expect the same decor, comfort etc from this chain) was the staff. The staff were exceptional in making us feel welcome (particularly Alison) and were friendly and approachable and took interest in our stay and reasons for being in the area. The hotel is a great base for tourism in the local area, would stay again if in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night. Great hotel and just 5 mins walk to the pubs and across Road from shopping centre. Rooms are extremely clean and a good size. We had breakfast in the morning and arrived after the rush. They were just restocking and did this quickly so we didn't have to wait long. Loads of choice from a full English to fruit to cereals. The waitress and chef were extremely helpful and pleasant . Will definitely be staying here again when we visit wigan for the rugby.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

As usual Premier Inn delivered great service for a good price, excellent decor & extremely comfy bed. This is the perfect location for exploring Wigan & the surrounding area. Parking opposite & can walk into town for bars & restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyLikesItHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, as stated by others it is a new hotel within 5mins walk of the town centre. As it is new everything is immaculate, my room was quite large and the bed was very comfy. I arrive late in the evening so did an automatic check in, this was easy and quick to do, and I was in my room within minutes. I did not have any meals apart from an evening meal on the Saturday, this was excellent and the service quick and very friendly. Indeed all the staff I met were friendly and had a smile on their faces. I would recommend this Premier to anyone staying in the Wigan area.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wigan hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
3.4 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Coaching Inn Hotel
Coaching Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Wigan
52 reviews
4.2 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel

Address: Harrogate Street, Wigan WN1 1BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range: $59 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handy for Wigan North Western train station, the Grand Arcade Shopping Centre and The Galleries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing