We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Wigan West.

The first time we enjoyed our stay unfortunately our second was spoilt by having a room at the back of the hotel. It was a very hot night and my husband and I tried to sleep with the window open only to find that it was like sleeping on the centre reservation of the M6.

Window closed fan on it made a little bit of difference.

Generally we always try to stay in a Premier Inn as we like the settings, and the quality of the rooms (always spotless).

However, I will not complain about Wigan just please do not take a room near the motorway.

Room Tip: As I said before, rooms are generally very comfortable and very clean but in the case of Wigan West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RINGFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    60
    56
    33
    24
See reviews for
75
52
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

When we finally found it (the google map picture isnt the actual premier hotel, its The Manor pub in front!!). Not very clear signage at the front at all!! Hotel was as you would expect from Premier - clean and comfortable. We checked in ok and went back to the Manor for an excellent sunday lunch. Getting back to reception was a little confusing. We were down stairs towards to back of the hotel. Coming back up to reception took two attempts. The first set of stairs seemed to take us into more corridors, the reception sign wasn't there to follow, just one with an arrow pointing up on the stairs, so had to go back down to another set of stairs along another corridor, where we finally got up to reception!! Breakfast was served in The Manor pub (we eventually discovered) - again this wasn't made very clear either at reception or in the information booklet in the room. There was nothing to say where breakfast was served - it just happened that the receptionist was present at the time to ask!! Breakfast was just right. Freshly cooked food. Would stay again if in the area, now we know where it is!!! More clear signage please!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn for three nights, while in the area to attend a family wedding. We were greeted warmly by the receptionist and quickly checked into our rooms.

The rooms are clean and generally well maintained, but were far too warm when we stayed (it was around 20 degrees outside, but the rooms were unbearably warm and stuffy).

Unfortunately we slept badly the first night - a lumpy mattress and constantly dripping shower really didn't do us any favours. The receptionist immediately agreed to move us when we reported it the following day and she also invoked the Premier Inn "Good Night's Sleep" guarantee.

The new bed was much more comfortable and had no further problems for the rest of our stay, thanks to the staff member's prompt action.

The hotel is attached to a "Hungry Horse" pub/restaurant which offers a range of good value pub grub - it gets very busy so worth getting there early and allowing plenty of time to eat. The pub also serves its own breakfasts, but you can only get these after the Premier Inn (more expensive!) breakfast finishes (9am during the week and 10am at weekends). This was a bit frustrating, but worth the wait.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

At the beginning of our week's break, we stayed here. We were placed in a room which overlooked the car park. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. She told us that if we needed anything we were only to ask. She also pointed out there was a fan in our room.

Our room, resembled the usual Premier Inn and smelled clean and fresh. The bathroom was also spotless.

We dined at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. The food was reasonably priced, very busy and ok. The service good and you received your food quite quickly.

Our second visit in the week saw us in a different room on the other side of the hotel - the motorway side. Since it was very warm while we were there and there is no air conditioning in the Premier Inn hotels, we had to have the window open. (there was a fan but it wasn't very effective). Unfortunately the noise from the motorway was disturbing and we didn't sleep very well that night. It was too hot and too noisy.

Also, I was disappointed with the bathroom. The first bathroom was spotless but this one was damp with mould around the taps. Also the towels smelt of vinegar and again they were damp. The bedding was ok though.

Although we know of the 'Good Night Guarantee'. we didn't complain as the lady on Reception was so helpful. We were due to fly back to where we live and needed an additional box to place some of our items in. She was wonderful and provided us with a box, string and scissors.

Would I stay again? Yes, we have stayed at this Premier Inn many times over the past few years and we have only had one negative experience. Next time, I would ask for a room that overlooked the car park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst attending a wedding. The room was ready for us when we got there although we were early. Room was very clean, staff were lovely. The only downside was the room was very hot and the fan that was provided not much use really need air con. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: sleep quality was poor because it was really warm weather and no air con and fan provided was useles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Chose this hotel on the basis of price: amazingly low cost for a family room. Reception were in contact ahead of our stay to check our room requirements and gave us taxi contact numbers as we were coming by train (this was an overnight stopover between trains). Staff were very helpful.
Room was clean and beds comfy, but it was stiflingly hot even with the small fan on. The window opened a bit, but with a lot of traffic noise.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The entrance from the car park is not well lit, the steps are quite steep and handrail sticky, also some of the steps are wobbly.If you want food go somewhere else if you like good quality. If you have along distance to travel and need a good night sleeps make sure the room you book is not on the motorway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wigan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigan
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel
Address: 160-162 Orrell Road | Orrell, Wigan WN5 8HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grab your walking boots and jump in the car to the Forest of Bowland AONB, just half an hour away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wigan West Hotel Wigan
Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing