We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Never stayed in a Premier Inn before and was very impressed by how comfortable this one was. The young lady on reception (Gemma) was warm, welcoming and efficient and went out her way to help us. The room was spotlessly clean and LOVED the lighting and the mirrors placed exactly where you needed them! Bathroom,spotless with provision of soap and shower gel, bed very comfortable with a choice of firm or soft pillows.....all in all ... just perfect for an overnight stay. Would definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Bath leaked and had to move rooms (2 night stay) reception was helpful but apparantly this was a common problem! Bathroom smelt stale so obvious an ongoing issue (room 29) Handwash dispenser was not clean in first room. Second room door did not close properly on its own so had to make sure it was shut everytime entering room (room 25) staff helpful and nice location just off motorway. Taybarns next door is an experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerbiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've used this Premier Inn a few times whilst visiting relatives and have been both before and after the renovations. The renovations have really added to it and made the rooms more homely with the flat screen televisions.

What really made this place though was the staff. Everyone I came across made an effort to smile, booking in was a breeze and the rooms were kept lovely and clean (no mean feat when we were travelling with two little ones).

We did eat in the restaurant on one night out of convenience but it was dire. However it was also cheap and the kids loved having choice (and unlimited ice cream). We did include Breakfast in our stay though and with kids eating free (if they are still doing this deal) I found that to be fantastic value.

Room Tip: On a busy road so ask for a room towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terriefarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Premier inn is fine with parking, helpful staff and nice rooms. There aren't any lifts and ask for a back room for a quieter sleep. The Taybarns restaurant is absolutely dire. The hotel offered to book me table and I agreed. When I turned up the 'restaurant ' said we don't do bookings just help yourself, after a queuing q use to buy a voucher I had the most terrible canteen experience. Food is low quality but buffet style. Rude people push in, they had run out of napkins and staff were unhelpful. Children run wild and parents shout at their offspring in the car park. As a business person wanting a quiet decent meal it was absolutely awful. A cross between a school dining hall and a factory canteen. If you are jut staying in the hotel it is find for a stay, but the restaurant really is dire.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farfromhomeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The actaul staff from the Premier inn itself were lovely and helpful. Eating in the Taybarns was a nightmare it was noisy with poor quality food. Staff here looked stressed. Actually it had all the qualities of a chimps teaparty.
The bedroom accomodation was comfortable and really very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have been staying at this Premiere Inn for years. Its in a brillaint convenient place for the Northwest especially for Manchester and Liverpool. Just off the M6 and about 3 miles from Wigan town centre. The breakfast is in the next door Taybarns resturaunt which is quite good value. Look out for the £29 a night rooms but need to book at least 4 weeks in advance and grab your bargain!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femme37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great hotel very clean, courteous staff and not disappointed. Great price and value for money. Got a great rate for Friday night as well. Would come back again! Excellent wall mounted LCD TV and everything is pretty new in the hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank fmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wigan hotels
2.2 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
5 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel

Address: Warrington Road | Marus Bridge, Wigan WN3 6XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range: $59 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque Lancashire countryside, not far from Haigh Hall Country Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing