We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel fine but Taybarns restaurant is dire!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Premier inn is fine with parking, helpful staff and nice rooms. There aren't any lifts and ask for a back room for a quieter sleep. The Taybarns restaurant is absolutely dire. The hotel offered to book me table and I agreed. When I turned up the 'restaurant ' said we don't do bookings just help yourself, after a queuing q use to buy a voucher I had the most terrible canteen experience. Food is low quality but buffet style. Rude people push in, they had run out of napkins and staff were unhelpful. Children run wild and parents shout at their offspring in the car park. As a business person wanting a quiet decent meal it was absolutely awful. A cross between a school dining hall and a factory canteen. If you are jut staying in the hotel it is find for a stay, but the restaurant really is dire.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farfromhomeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 267 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The actaul staff from the Premier inn itself were lovely and helpful. Eating in the Taybarns was a nightmare it was noisy with poor quality food. Staff here looked stressed. Actually it had all the qualities of a chimps teaparty.
The bedroom accomodation was comfortable and really very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have been staying at this Premiere Inn for years. Its in a brillaint convenient place for the Northwest especially for Manchester and Liverpool. Just off the M6 and about 3 miles from Wigan town centre. The breakfast is in the next door Taybarns resturaunt which is quite good value. Look out for the £29 a night rooms but need to book at least 4 weeks in advance and grab your bargain!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femme37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great hotel very clean, courteous staff and not disappointed. Great price and value for money. Got a great rate for Friday night as well. Would come back again! Excellent wall mounted LCD TV and everything is pretty new in the hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank fmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Staff were lovely throughout my stay. Room was lovely & clean every day. Very comfy bed. Breakfast at Taybarns next door was lovely, maybe lower the price as when paying for room and breakfast for a few days, the amount is quite high. 5 minutes walk from hotel brings you to Asda, McDonald's & some other shops, so is good when needing to eat or shop. Would stay again when in area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddlesbroughJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stay in Premier Inn every week this is the first time that we have found the food lacking to this degree. On the last night of our stay we went and ate else where because it was so awful. Self service same food every night usually we find the food of a very high standard will not visit this Premier Inn when we return in April

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessie_bird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent stay at this newly refurbished hotel. Quiet room. Very frendly and helpful staff. Despite previous negative review about restaurant on trip advisor we found it to be a good experience, good value, happy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigan
2.2 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel

Address: Warrington Road | Marus Bridge, Wigan WN3 6XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range: $66 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque Lancashire countryside, not far from Haigh Hall Country Park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing