We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome awaits!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great VFM, clean hotel, Alison, who oversees the hotel side, cannot do enough to help and is an excellent advert for Weatherspoons. Room was clean, modern and Wi-Fi is easy to use. My first time staying here but will be returning. Book with confidence

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

I am always happy to help as are all of the Hotel team.

I am very glad to see that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and hope you have a safe journey.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    127
    49
    24
    20
See reviews for
59
122
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst we are having renovation work done, the staff are friendly, the facilities are great as you are living over a pub, the only drawback are the rooms are too small plus the fact are bedding was never changed but we had fresh towels didnt help.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mudfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

In regards to room size, all of our rooms vary in size and shape and we do have various types of rooms to chose from. If you chose to return to us, and we sincerely hope you do, then please check what is available on booking.

I would like to apologise that your bed linen was not changed, but if we had been made aware of this we would of happily, and promptly, arranged this for you.

I have reviewed you comments with the team and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Have stayed here a few times when we go over to the uk. Handy location.the rooms are clean ,the staff are very helpful.the breakfast is great and cheap. Will be booking for May this year again. I defiantly recommend this place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arwenb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you taking the time to review our Hotel again.

We are so glad that you chose to return to us time and time again.
I have passed on your message to the Hotel team.

We look forward to your reutrn in May and hope you have a safe flight.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Am writing this review before the end of our stay, as It is a really good hotel.
Staff remarkable nothing to much for them , very welcoming and friendly.
Rooms comfortable clean and tidy.Breakfast from 7 or 7.30 to 12 very cheap £8 for us both and to a high standard. Will be making this hotel our regular when staying in wigan only 5 minutes walk to town thankyou to the staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lawmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.

I have passed your message onto the Hotel Team who were very pleased with you kind words.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is excellent value for money and we found all of the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. They all seemed to work very well as a team and all seemed to enjoy their jobs. Alison in reception was particularly helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The bed was extremely comfortable, the only slight criticism was that the windows and bathroom could do with a bit of an upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I'm glad that enjoyed your stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed your company. It's always nice to be reminded of home!

I have passed your kind words onto the Hotel Team.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here just before the festive season started proper!! The book in was very easy and quick,a good start..Roomk was very comfortable clean & tidy.

Bar was quite busy but did not have to wait long to be served..Staff very charming and helpful.
As wife is from Wigan we had some very good chats with the locals which does help.

Will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Depends. Ours overlooked a side road,but we were Not disturbed by traffic or any late night travelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I have passed on your comments to the Hotel and Pub Team.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will reutrn to us soon.

Kind Regards,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as my usual hotel was full. I arrived very late so did not sample the bar, but the check in was very efficient and friendly. The room was clean and tidy, nothing fancy, but all you need for a comfortable nights stay. The breakfast was not included but this is good as it means you can choose what you want from an extensive menu. I went for the standard full English and was impressed with the quality. Will stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I have passed your kind words onto the Hotel Team.

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wigan hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
5.1 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
1.9 mi away
Coaching Inn Hotel
Coaching Inn Hotel
#9 of 11 in Wigan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brocket Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brocket Arms Hotel

Property: The Brocket Arms Hotel
Address: 38 Mesnes Road, Wigan WN1 2DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brocket Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is within walking distance of the town centre. It has 28 individual en suite bedrooms, all of which have been recently refurbished and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brocket Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocket Arms Wigan
The Brocket Arms Hotel Wigan, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing