We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Wigan
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Am writing this review before the end of our stay, as It is a really good hotel.
Staff remarkable nothing to much for them , very welcoming and friendly.
Rooms comfortable clean and tidy.Breakfast from 7 or 7.30 to 12 very cheap £8 for us both and to a high standard. Will be making this hotel our regular when staying in wigan only 5 minutes walk to town thankyou to the staff.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lawmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.

I have passed your message onto the Hotel Team who were very pleased with you kind words.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 377 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is excellent value for money and we found all of the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. They all seemed to work very well as a team and all seemed to enjoy their jobs. Alison in reception was particularly helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The bed was extremely comfortable, the only slight criticism was that the windows and bathroom could do with a bit of an upgrade.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I'm glad that enjoyed your stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed your company. It's always nice to be reminded of home!

I have passed your kind words onto the Hotel Team.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here just before the festive season started proper!! The book in was very easy and quick,a good start..Roomk was very comfortable clean & tidy.

Bar was quite busy but did not have to wait long to be served..Staff very charming and helpful.
As wife is from Wigan we had some very good chats with the locals which does help.

Will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Depends. Ours overlooked a side road,but we were Not disturbed by traffic or any late night travelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I have passed on your comments to the Hotel and Pub Team.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will reutrn to us soon.

Kind Regards,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night as my usual hotel was full. I arrived very late so did not sample the bar, but the check in was very efficient and friendly. The room was clean and tidy, nothing fancy, but all you need for a comfortable nights stay. The breakfast was not included but this is good as it means you can choose what you want from an extensive menu. I went for the standard full English and was impressed with the quality. Will stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I have passed your kind words onto the Hotel Team.

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I are usually Travelodge or Premier Inn guests but as we always go to 'Spoons for breakfast when we are away we thought we'd give a Lodge a try. It was excellent!
We were a little surprised that it was about a mile out of town but the bus service was efficient and we had a pleasant walk in to town the following morning.
The staff were very pleasant, welcoming and helpful and we soon found our nice, cosy room. I must say that it was an improvement on the rooms we're used to with the other 2 companies. A superb night's sleep thanks to a lovely comfortable bed with a huge duvet.
It was wonderful being able to stroll downstairs to the pub in the morning for a traditional fried breakfast. Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: The room we had at the front was just the business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I have passed your kind words onto the Hotel Team.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I used to go to the Brocket a lot but not so much recently as at the weekend you struggle to get served. Apparently, after the last time I asked, I was told they are short staffed, but that's not my problem is it? Visited again today with my daughter. We're veggie and not many places do a veggie roast apart from the Brocket. At 2.45 pm, after waiting at the bar for 10 minutes while all the the staff discussed how to rectify a till mistake, I tried to order my meal only to be told "we've sold out of veggie roast". Ah well! The Brocket used to be a really well run pub but you can't get served and staff are offhand because they're overworked, so I'm not going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieCWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to bring your bad experience to our attentiion.

We sincerely apologise if you feel that we have not valued your custom, I hope to reasure you that we value all of our customers and are in the process of reviewing the areas of concern that you have brought to light.

I do hope that you will accept our sincere apologise and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in the Brocket Arms a couple of years ago and the rooms were good. We stayed last month and this Hotel has really gone down hill. I will never go back as the rooms are very tired. The beds need to be replaced. We asked to change room but it was just as bad.

The food. If you look all the food microwaved then your ok but we don't the food I would score 1/10 really need to get your chefs to cook properly.

Would I go back No

Room Tip: If you need a short break for any reason don't to there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocket A, Front Office Manager at The Brocket Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear customer.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I apologise that your stay was not pleasant and I am sad to see that you will not return to us.

As a company, we are in the process of refurbishing all of our hotels. In the meantime we do try to keep on top of all of our maintenance issues.

Regards,

The Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigan
0.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
5.1 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Coaching Inn Hotel
Coaching Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Wigan
52 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brocket Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brocket Arms Hotel

Address: 38 Mesnes Road, Wigan WN1 2DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range: $50 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brocket Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is within walking distance of the town centre. It has 28 individual en suite bedrooms, all of which have been recently refurbished and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Brocket Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocket Arms Wigan
The Brocket Arms Hotel Wigan, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing