We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CANAL SIDE PUB” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crooke Hall Inn

The Crooke Hall Inn
Ranked #70 of 393 Restaurants in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open from 5- 11pm Monday and Tuesday - 11 11.30pm Wednesday - Sunday. Food available; Mon - Tue 5p.m - 8p.m and Wednesday - Sunday 12noon til 8pm.
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“CANAL SIDE PUB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely old country pub with lots of history , canal side with lots of parking, Food is freshly cooked, and very reasonable price, the Steak and mushroom pie and the chicken and leek are fab. Lots of events take place mostly in the summer. If around that area it is a good place to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UkWiseowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food, good beer friendly people. Enough said.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have been to the Crooke Hall Inn for a few meals now and have always been impressed with the quality of the food, the service and the beer. In particular we recommend the slow cooked lamb shank. Having been in many many many pubs over the years, we can honestly say this is one of the friendliest. Keep up with good work. Mike & Cassy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChocolateFrog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“its ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

First time we have been for years and we went on recommendation, the food was good but there wasn't enough, the portion sizes are a little on the small side for me, may be we went on an off day but it seems to lack atmosphere and the staff don't seem to friendly, on the plus side there's a large car park and its in a nice location, we didn't try the beer so I cant comment, from our visit I don't think we will go back soon as there is better and stronger local competition for now.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wooly0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a turnaround”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I previously visited about a year ago, lovely beer but in need of some TLC. Went again last night and what a difference some hard work and imagination has done. The beer is still top class, but the bar is warm, welcoming, comfortable and the service good. Definately a dog lovers pub but well worth a visit nevertheless.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thamesdittonish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Called here with partner after a walk along the canal. The bar area was busy but got sereved quickly with a pint of Allgates superb California bitter, and a pint of Guinness. This was the second time I had been in this pub within a week and on both occasion the cask ales were spot on. This was the first time that we decided to eat at Crooke Inn. We found a table and ordered steak and ale pie with chips and chicken pie in a white wine sauce. The food arrived in under 20 minuets despite there being a large party. It was piping hot, there was enough chips and they were not the frozen variety but hand cut. Partner chose potatoes which were nicely cooked and fluffy. There was a good selection of vegetables served seperatly.
The pie was straight from the oven as the pastry lid was crisp, inside were chucks of succulent beef. All in all I found this meal to be wholesome, tasty and freshly cooked and well worth the money. I can't understand the two gripes that are on this site as my meal was very good indeed. I for one will be returning to this pub for food and for the cask ales.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crooke Hall Inn also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Crooke Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing