We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time visit”
Review of Sharpy's Fish and Chips - CLOSED

Sharpy's Fish and Chips
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sharpy's Fish and Chips, situated next to the DW stadium in Wigan. Home to the largest frying range in the UK. We aim to provide the best fish and chips and unbeatable service. Restaurant ; Bar ; Takeaway! Your perfect venue for all occasions. Whether your in a rush or planning a party, Sharpy's Fish and Chips has eveything you need. We are child friendly, wheelchair accessable, late license, takeaway facility, 270 seater restaurant, outside seating for dining or drinking, bookable for private parties, plenty of parking and easily accessable from junctions 25, 26 and 27 of the M6!!Give us a try and let us know what you think!
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Visited Sharpy's for the 1st time yesterday with friends who had previously visited. Certainly won't be our last visit. Had BBQ chicken wings and filo prawns for starters, then 2 of us had fish and chips and 2 had pudding and chips. The fish is huge, and the batter is delicious.
All in all great food and great service.
Thanks x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wiganers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theyoungone1983, General Manager at Sharpy's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Wiganers,

Thank you for your review.

We have since introduced the Chicken Wings to our Main Menu which is served everyday of the week.

Looking forward to serving you again soon.

Regards

David Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Tried Sharpys for the first time the other night and had great time! The decor is moden and stylish nicer than most top restaurants, we were seated straight away and the waitress took our drinks order. The menu is small but with everything you would expect covered, our order was taken and the food came out quickly. We ordered the classic fish and chips and I can’t fault it at all, fresh fish, fresh batter and fresh chips none of it was soggy or cold. I would defiantly recommend giving sharpys a try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gracewigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theyoungone1983, General Manager at Sharpy's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear charriss_grace,

Thank you for your kind words.

We have since expanded our offering with our new menu launch.

Hope to see you in again soon

Regards

David Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have been to Sharpy's several times now with my family. The service is friendly and quick. The portion sizes are large and good value. The chips and fish are extremely good. I look forward to going back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dons22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theyoungone1983, General Manager at Sharpy's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear dons22,

Thank you for your kind review.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

David Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very friendly and clean , food was great. I had cod and chips and some of the party had pudding and chips. They have all been back a few times since.The decor is fantastic

Thank curryqueen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theyoungone1983, General Manager at Sharpy's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear curryqueen_12

Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm glad you and your party enjoyed their meals.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Regards

David Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Again we were shown to our seats very quickly and got our ordered drinks quickly. Service was excellent. What excellent fish (and chips). Portions were a good size. My wife had steak pudding and chips which she said was very good. Staff are excellent. This is a great modern restaurant.

Looking forward to our fifth visit!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LancsTraveller186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theyoungone1983, General Manager at Sharpy's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear LancsTraveller,

It's really nice to hear that we have become a regular stop off for yourselves.

We look forward to your fifth, sixth and 100th visit to Sharpy's!!

Regards

David Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharpy's Fish and Chips also viewed

Ashton in Makerfield, Wigan
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing