We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much to ask....Amazing staff and place...we were in good hands.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Wigan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

After visiting the excellent restaurant a number of times we were impressed and chose to have our wedding reception in the Langtree suite on Sunday 5th May. The wedding team (esp Carol) were fantastic in both helping us to plan and the execution on the day. Having made a lot of the decorations ourselves, Carol and the team were extremely obliging, setting up each and every part for us...including cheesecake, candy bar, cupcake stands, tables...the list is endless.... The langtree suite itself is beautiful without any decoration, however it was breathtaking once finished. On the day the food, drinks and service were commented on by our guests as outstanding. Carol lead us through each step of the day. Each of the bedrooms were beautiful, each with their own character...which is another reason as to why we chose Ashfield House, we didn't want the conventional modern chain hotel wedding...we wanted Bespoke and that's exactly what we received. Thank you to all the team :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandAHargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review, I will be sure to tell Carol she was mentioned personally she will be pleased!

We are only a small team here but I think that makes the difference and it allows us to give a very personal service - you did have alot of decoration but it really made your wedding special and indivdual. Your 'cheese' wedding cake even made it onto our facebook page we were so impressed with it!

Congratulations and perhaps we'll see you this time next year for your anniversary! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked ashfield house back in 2010 for our 22nd March 2013 wedding and I can say we enjoyed every moment of planning our wedding at this venue.
The staff from day 1 were helpful, kind, very easy to work with and nothing we asked for was ever too much trouble as iam sure I asked the same questions several times!!
The payment plan Ashfield offer is great splitting the price over payments every 3 months and this really helped with our finances.
Closer to the wedding date our meetings with Ashfield became more regular and they really understood how we wanted our day to be.
The day of 22nd March came and boy did it snow very unexpectedly but it added to the day as it looked very beautiful with all the grounds being white and crisp.
We got married in the restaurant side to make full use of the bay window area for signing of the register photos and this room didn't need any additional chair covers due to the look and feel of the room with it being wooden the chairs all matched fine.
We had our reception in the Langtree Suite and I was blown away with how the room looked it was just how I had visualized it for over 2 years and with hard work from everyone inc the staff at Ashfield it was perfect.
Just going back to a previous review on here that gave 1 out of 5 as a score with them going on about having to pay for sparking water as they didn't drink alcohol I would like to point out that I had personally made Ashfield aware at my wedding that 5 guests who would not be having the reception drink, toast sparkling wine and wine with their meal and it was pre organized that they would get soft drinks so perhaps these guests in the past review should make use of the 'any special requirements' people ask about on their wedding invitation.
The food was fantastic and we had many guests comment about it and nice hot plates too.
Everthing ran top notch and everyone of our guests commented on the venue and how great the day was.
We had taken the hotel rooms for our guests that evening and everyone enjoyed their breakfast the morning after - it was just a pity we all had to say goodbye and leave.
THANKYOU Ashfield House for our fantastic wedding day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, you did a great job of organising your wedding and you should be very proud of all your hard work. We are only a small team here and we like to make each wedding as individual as each couple (as well as answering as many questions and replying to as many emails as you guys can throw at us!).

Congratulations and maybe we'll see you for your anniversary! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

we have just been to a wedding here the wedding was great the building looked great from outside once inside it changed. the reception staff could do with going on a customer care course. we had two bedrooms 410 and 411 the 410 room had not been cleaned properly there was water staines on the wall by the window the furniture is old and scratched the bar in the wardrobe was held together with tape the mixture of hangers some held together with tape the bed also bent.room 411 had walpaper pealing from the wall under the window and the warbrobe smelt.i really do not think that it is right for a bag of dirty linen to be left in the room where the evening reception was held in the langtree suite and was only removed when asked.we had to ask for sparkling water for the toast as we do not drink and was then asked to pay for it surly the management could have given it to us as we told the waiter we did not drink.as for breakfast my husband asked for bacon and tomatoe and was given one rasher of bacon and half a tomatoe for the money we payed this is not acceptable.i had a full english which had fried egg one sausage egg mushroom and beans i have had better in shops i would not recommend this hotel to stay in but the wedding part was good

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed the wedding as this was the main event and the most important part of your stay! We are sorry you were disappointed about some aspects of your accomodation, the wardrobes in these rooms are brand new and it seems there is some tape inside protecting the bar during transit that has now been removed. We have checked the bed and it does not appear to be bent but we will be in touch with you directly to find out where you thought it was bent in case we have missed it.

After the wedding breakfast the tables all receive clean cloths for the evening reception and unfortunately the table linen from your meal was left in its laundry bag in the room by accident and we are sorry about this.

We were not made aware during the wedding planning that there were guests who did not drink and the managers on duty did not know that you requested an alternative to sparkling wine, the member of staff you spoke to must not have understood your request properly or told a manager because we would have certainly given you an alternative at no extra cost. I'm sorry you were asked to pay extra on this occasion and we will be briefing staff on this specific issue to make sure it does not happen again.

It's a shame you did not enjoy breakfast, we always have such lovely comments about our cooked and continental breakfast, I can only say that if you had asked for more we would have willingly obliged. Our rooms are reasonably priced at £60 per room with cooked and continental breakfast including unlimited tea, coffee and juice for two which we feel is good value indeed, especially compared to some other wedding venues who seem to take advantage of their 'captive audience'.

Again, we are glad you thought the wedding was great, you were one of the first to take advantage of our newly decorated Langtree Suite and with new flooring and decoration throughout the ground floor ongoing, the weddings at Ashfield House can only get better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had dinner at Ashfield House with my partner and his parents on the Saturday night of the long Easter weekend. I've been to Ashfied House for dinner before and this time, as in all my previous visits, I could not fault the food which was both delicious and beautifully presented. There was just the right amount of choice, about eight options for each course, and at least one vegetarian choice. The service was just right - neither too fast nor too slow. Ashfield House offers a more 'traditional' dining experience - starched white napkins and table cloths in an elegant, if slighty old-fashioned, setting. I can only presume there is little demand for this type of dining any more as, even on this Easter weekend, the large dining room was virtually deserted - just two or three other parties who had all left by the time we got to our main course. It's a shame as the chef and waiting staff clearly know what they are doing. Ashfield House must be doing something right, though, as there always seems to be a wedding going on when we are there and my partner's parents visited for lunch on Christmas Day and said that the place was packed. All in all, we had an enjoyable meal with nothing to fault other than the deathly silence and emptiness of the place - even some classical music playing softly in the background would be better than nothing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TheSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for your nice review, we have had problems with our old sound system recently hance the lack of background music however we had a new system fitted throughout the ground floor 3 days after you visited!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The value here is that they, on sundays offer a decent three course lunch for under £15, in a spacious old world dining room, albeit somewhat shabby!
As a party we all had one of everything on the limited menu! The food was served fresh and very hot. Extra "Yorkies" and lashings of tasty gravy were not charged for. Vegetables, again hot and fresh were plentyful. I cannot in all honesty compare this to a restaurant as it is not, but they all tried very hard to make it a pleasant occassion. Our young waitress, Laura, worked tirelessly for our and other tables to ensure great service.
The drinks and wine were all at reasonable and sensible prices.
With some TLC the dining and bar rooms could be much better. Simply refurbishing the tables and bar tops would help the visuals.
Good effort, could be improved, but at what cost. As it is, it is good value, so do not go with grand expectations.

Room Tip: A friends or family lunch venue offering good value! We have not stayed at the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write about our restaurant, Laura will be pleased when I show her this lovely review! We take the view that a generous attitude pays dividends and I'm glad you appreciated it.

We are currently planning a renovation which will address the points you have made about the decor so come back in afew months and hopefully we'll get 5 stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our daughter got married this weekend at Ashfield House Hotel and the whole day was fantastic.
I can't praise the hotel management and staff enough for making the day (and the planning days) so easy and smooth. On the Thursday we took the table decorations, table plan etc. & Ashfield House followed our instructions exactly and the tables looked perfect. The room looked wonderful and the Wedding Breakfast was delicious. (so was the evening buffet!) Despite there being 100 day time guests to serve all the food was piping hot & tasty. I was very impressed. The whole day went without a hitch. A professional team of staff cleared away and set up the room for the evening reception without any fuss. A very slick operation. There is plenty of room for guests to sit, stand and chat while the room is changed for the evening reception. The bar staff served quickly and politely. We booked all the rooms for family and friends and everyone was pleased with their room, the facilities and the breakfast. Our room was large, clean with wonderful views over the gardens. Yes it's an old (possibly tired) country house but it has character & it has a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. I could write loads more about the day but in a nut shell Ashfield House & its staff made my daughter and my new (wonderful) son in law’s day just perfect. Basically, what I’m trying to get across is that it was great not having to think about anything or having to organise anything or worry about anything as Ashfield House did it all without any fuss. Well done and thank you Ashfield House.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room. We had 410 and it was excellent. The views were outstanding and it was v...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPI5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdviser and thanks for your lovely comments - we are only a small team here but I think this gives us the relaxed atmosphere you mention. Your daughter and new son-in-law were lucky to be one of the first to stay in the newly decorated Bridal Suite!

If couples are looking for a wedding venue with character we are just the place but we do realise some areas need attention so we are planning a major renovation to the entire ground floor in the next few months (including new flooring) which will make the entire venue even more beautiful. We are also planning extensive landscaping works in the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My daughter and I spent one night here and I must say it was a very good experience. The hotel itself could use a little tlc, but overall the building and grounds are beautiful. Our room was huge with a double and single bed (plus dressing table and wardrobes etc), but there was bags of spare space which could have accommodated another double and single bed.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and our evening meal was the best I have had in a long time.
We got a bargain when we booked it at only £40 for the two of us bed and breakfast and to be honest I wasn't expecting very much.
Would stay here again and recommend to anyone who (like it or not) HAS to stay in Wigan for whatever reason.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gromit04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for your review - we agree about needing a little tlc and we are planning a major renovation to the entire ground floor in the next few months along with some extensive landscaping works in the garden.

Bargain hunters can find some good rates on laterooms but we also match the price when taking telephone bookings so if you ever have to visit Wigan again we would love to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigan
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
2.6 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Ashfield Park Drive | Standish, Wigan WN6 0EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wigan
Price Range: $95 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1755 Ashfield House is an elegant English Country House standing in its own landscaped grounds and overlooking the Douglas Valley. We host exclusive weddings, functions and conferences in style and also have a first class restaurant Sunday Lunch. The original sweeping staircase, beautiful bay windows, ornate columns and panelled library bar create a special atmosphere that is quite unique. We are 5 minutes from the M6 motorway but you will feel the peace and quiet of a country manor house. All of our ground floor areas are disabled access friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Hotel And Restaurant
Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant Wigan, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing