We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mill engine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trencherfield Mill

Trencherfield Mill
Ranked #15 of 44 things to do in Wigan
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mill engine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

the engine is one if not the biggest of its kind that still runs it is HUGE and iside the mill they still demonstrate some of the machines that worked the cotton very well worth a visit

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great example of a beautiful building, full of history but short of commercial usefulness, that has been adapted for use as housing with a portion set aside for historical use. This is a great place to go to see how factories in the area used coal, raw cotton from overseas, canals and local craft workers to produce a world class product.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Trencherfield Mill Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I live in Wigan and wanted to take some visiting friends to see the magnificent Trencherfield Mill Engine working. To my horror when we got there we discovered that it only opens on a Sunday and then only for a short time. I suppose it was to be expected as Wigan Council closed the Way We Were Museum about three years ago and the footfall in the area must certainly have plummeted since then. Perhaps my friends will try again next time they are in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank WiganAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great FREE history lesson is steam & cotton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Its a disgrace that the mill engine is only open on Sundays between 11.00am & 1.00pm. This engine & building is a national treasure, and the gentlemen who run the machines are, knowledgeable about every aspect. Child conscience and very enthusiastic with the kids. THIS PLACE SHOULD BE RUNNING ALL WEEK! Shame on Wigan Council for wrecking the Pier quarter, this was Wigans jewel in the crown, thank goodness the engine masters have the decency to keep it running, albeit 1 day a week.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Gertcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“awe-inspiring and fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The largest, still functioning steam engine is a breathtaking sight to behold. Whether you are keen on engineering and technology or not, this beautiful machine will completely bowl you over. The brilliant, entertaining and easy-to-follow presentation and explanation by the engineers and staff makes the experience unforgettable. This must be Wigan's best-kept secret.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank slate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trencherfield Mill also viewed

 
Appley Bridge, Wigan
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Trencherfield Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing