We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect Saturday lunch”
Review of The Coven

The Coven
Ranked #16 of 401 Restaurants in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fantastic cuisine in a historic part of town. Pure vegetarian & vegan with a wide choice for coeliacs too. Everything is cooked from scratch in The Coven kitchen - we all all the ingredients in our food so we can guarantee the quality. We also cater for special diets and needs and have special ingredients on hand to help. Massive drinks menu with 25 fine loose teas, organic coffees and normal & vegan milkshakes & smoothies.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a perfect Saturday lunch”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We traveled across to Wigan just to visit this restaurant as we had been meaning to visit for a while, sort of a birthday treat as vegans [ two in a party of three ] its a little hit a miss even at veggie places, lucky for us we were not disappointed this is a no frills with quirky bits cafe but the food is very good and the service excellent, had a main and a dessert a rare treat at a dining experience. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    43
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quirky Charm”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Been here quite a few times. My wife requires gluten free options, so this restaurant is ideal. We love the small size and décor, it reminds us of dining in Glastonbury High St! All home cooking and the service is very friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The food here is excellent. They do cater for vegan and gluten-free diets but the food is very tasty and suitable for everyone. Good home-made chips. The staff are friendly. It's quite a small cafe, suitable for families, groups and single diners. I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a veggie”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Small intimate cafe specialising in vegan and vegetarian foods.
Freshly home made cuisine served in a friendly atmosphere, ideal for ladies who lunch.
I am not a vegetarian but love tasting their take on herby, spicy healthy meals.

WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtr Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small but delightful”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a small place but the this means the food is given the full attention. A good, interesting menu, well prepared and well presented. Excellent for vegans and other specialist needs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greysword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coven also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Coven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing