We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant cafe”
Review of The Coven

The Coven
Ranked #16 of 401 Restaurants in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fantastic cuisine in a historic part of town. Pure vegetarian & vegan with a wide choice for coeliacs too. Everything is cooked from scratch in The Coven kitchen - we all all the ingredients in our food so we can guarantee the quality. We also cater for special diets and needs and have special ingredients on hand to help. Massive drinks menu with 25 fine loose teas, organic coffees and normal & vegan milkshakes & smoothies.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant cafe”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Warm n welcoming atmosphere and great company. Even tho im not a vegitatian or require a special diet i fully enjoy trying out different food and have samples a lot of the menu . Every visit is a pleasure and i will be returnimg again to try more of the locley menu. Well done for providing a service to people on special diets im sure its much apreciated

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scurvydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    43
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great expectations”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went here on for a Saturday night meal, on the strength of Tripadvisor recommendations and feeling like a change from the norm. What a superb place - and totally lives up to its billing. Colin and Maria are great hosts, who make you feel really welcome, without being overbearing. The food is the main event here though, relying on a fresh and interesting menu that is a million miles away from what you'd expect in the pie capital of the world.

We had the full three course experience, with drinks for under £50 for the two of us - good value.

We occasionally eat at Simon Rimmer's place Greens in Manchester, which is really good - but for my money The Coven is even better quality food.

The Coven is truely an antidote to the run of the mill average - well worth making the effort to get to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, accommodating quirky place with a conscience!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I visited the Coven last week with friends and found it to be a truly one of a kind experience. With the majority of their offerings being vegan and with raw options available, this place is in a league of its own in the north, let alone Wigan. I can highly recommend this spot to anyone with a conscience, good taste and a sense of adventure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Figbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Favourite place for an afternoon snack”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is an absolute hidden gem! I love the decor which, just like the owners, is warm and welcoming. It's a real treat for me to stop in for an afternoon snack when shopping. Even my mum, the dedicated carnivore, enjoys the delicious food on offer, both sweet and savoury. All the food is freshly made with nothing pre-packaged and this reflects in the fantastic taste and quality of everything. The service is wonderful and they cannot do enough to cater for any dietary needs. And it's the only place in Wigan that seem to serve a good range of speciality teas, so if you love your Oolong, Jasmine pearls, Chai or even Sencha, this is the place to visit. Prices are very reasonable - same price as the plastic prepacked franchised competition, but the quality and service are in a different league.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a very enjoyable Saturday night at The Coven. The hosts could not have been more welcoming, were very knowlegable and served us with top class, quality food. It's a long time since I enjoyed such a delicious meal! The 4 non-veggie members of our party only had good comments to make about the flavours, textures and presentation of the dishes and it was an experience we hope to repeat in the near future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janlouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coven also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Coven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing