We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”
Review of The Raj

The Raj
Ranked #8 of 406 Restaurants in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Newly Extended 100 Seater, Multi Award Winning family run business. Est 2002 Top 5 listed restauarant National Curry Week Award Winning Signature Menu. A stone throw from the DW. The locals say RAJ is short for REALLY ALREET JACKBIT. 25% Off takeaways and home of the £8.95 Sunday Banquet. Latics and Warriors welcome. We are fans too. Kone, Mcarthy, Tomkins, Burke, Thornley, Sibbett, Farrell have all had jackbit. Come dine with us. Let us look after you. Join us on facebook or follow on Twitter.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We dine here regularly with the family and the staff are always friendly and welcoming, the food is fantastic. I have never had a poor meal or service. the quality of food extends to their takeaway's. they are accommodating and helpful with my husband who is in a wheelchair and we never feel that its a problem or inconvenience. cant wait to go again. Highly recommend The Raj.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benjidog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    63
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best around!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I don't very often dine in the restaurant,I more often than none get a takeaway. The quality of the food is lovely, it is one of the best Indian/ Bangladesh places in Wigan. Never had a bad meal from here. The only downside is the restaurant is a little small but the food makes up for it. Highly recommend the raj.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I must say that the food quality here is exceptional. Very good tasty dishes and the staff are extremely helpful in both helping you decide and recommend and also give you the space and time to relax and enjoy your meal. To those who may not have had their expectations met - I would give them feedback at the time and I am sure that the friendly staff will go out of there way to help resolve any issues that you may have. Highly recommend this place to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank 12johnSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good ”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. Service very good food was lovely and it was very busy too I can't wait to go again with the family and eat again!!

Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“High expectations that unfortunately weren't met”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Myself and two friends decided to go to The Raj after hearing that, not only was it the best in Wigan, but also rately highly within the UK. We had high hopes and were expecting a really good curry. We all ordered starters, mains and sides - and found that between all three of us none of us had an exceptional dish. We found them to just be average and similar to our local takeways.

The curries were okay, but after such hype I was expecting a lot better. We all ordered completely different dishes and none of them met the expectations set by the reviews on here.

That being said, the service was good and prices were reasonable. So my advice if you do go is don't be expecting too much from the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing