We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have never been treated so badly”
Review of Bel Air Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bel Air Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I have never been treated so badly”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My wife and I thought we would try the newly opened restaurant at this hotel..
I phoned at lunchtime on Saturday and made a reservation for 8.00 p.m. in the restaurant.

We arrived at 7.45 p.m. The restaurant and reception were empty so I spoke to a pleasant young lady at the bar. She called a male member of staff and we explained that we had booked a table. We were told that the man who would have taken the booking wasn't in and that there was nobody in the restaurant that night.

As we had come for a meal, I asked if there was anything they could do for us. The guy said he could order us a chinese and laughed. At that point I turned to leave and he said "what do you expect me to do about it"? I said "it's your restaurant" and walked out. He shouted after us "and don't bother coming back".

I understand that mistakes can happen, but the least I would have expected was an apology. I am disgusted at this treatment and will certainly never set foot in that establishment again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    6
    16
See reviews for
6
15
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

me and my husband stopped here after our wedding the room was nice and clean and the breakfast was delicious

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I was visiting friends in the Wigan area and i found the BelAir Hotel to be warm and welcoming. The new owners who have recently taken over in the last 4 months are working hard to renovate this tired hotel. The new rooms, one of which i stopped in are very clean, modern, and comfortable. The breakfast is a self serve continental breakfast consisting of tea, coffee, fresh juices, bagels, crossiants, toast, tea cakes, fruit, yogurts, jams etc..more than i have recieved in some of the more exclusive hotels. I would recomend this hotel to a friend, I think it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthdugdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Due to business concerns I spent 2 months in this hotel. The staff and owners are terrific people and can never do enough for their guests. I have watched the hotel go from strength to strength, when their refurbishment plan is complete it will reflect the hard work and dedication that has been put in.
Breakfast is just what you need to start the day and was really good.
I hope to be back up in Wigan soon and there will be no other Hotel for me but The Bel Air.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The hotel is shabby, clean(ish) - the cups etc were not. The hotel smells foisty and damp and is cold. Our room was noisey (outside traffic noise). One cannot descrbie the breakfast. We were told it was served until 10, yet the cook informed us (at 08:35) that it was only served until 9. The sausages were not cooked, the scrambled eggs didn't even look like scrambeled egg and the toast was dry warm bread. Not a pleasureable experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wigan hotels

liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

when we arrived everything was ok got asked if we wanted to pay then or when we were leaving so decided to pay then big mistake because if i would have left it till morning i dont think i would have paid the full price or expected to, the room was small no heating no hot water bath was dirty anyway, loads of carpet stains, cob webs, furniture was mismatched and dirty ,no hairdryer in room even though it was advertised, hairs on the bed sheets walls dirty could do with a lick of paint, in the morning when we came down to have breakfast my wife had cornflakes but couldnt eat it as milk was of, full english breakfast was nice and when we spoke to staff about the room even they were it was a disgrace but couldnt go and say anything to the manager,"why" because she was asleep

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2009

you get what you ask for in this hotel. its a comfortable hotel with a homely feel. At night time the bar is always full of locals watching sport and conversing as only wiganers can...make you feel very welcome..i would certainly go back there.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jetset18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wigan hotels
0.4 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Hotel

Property: Bel Air Hotel
Address: 236 Wigan Lane, Wigan WN1 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel Air Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bel Air Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Hotel Wigan, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing