We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely atmosphere and great food”
Review of The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Rich in its Eastern references, The Tavern Bar and Thai Restaurant offers Wigan���s diners a sumptuous dining experience with a strong Thai feel. Passers by may mistake The Tavern to be just another high-end pub but stepping inside this old Victorian drinking establishment, you���ll discover an exciting fusion of East and West, the antique wood carved bar surrounded by high tables and stools yet lit by printed silk lamps and dotted with pretty pink orchids. Through to the expansive dining room, The Tavern becomes increasingly sophisticated with a romantic atmosphere. The space is surrounded by beautiful Thai artefacts and yet more plants, the lighting low and warm and tables generously spaced. As well as the traditional dishes Thai restaurants are known for, The Tavern���s talented kitchen offers a fine selection of its own creative takes on South East Asian cuisine, using authentic ingredients such as lemongrass, galangal and coconut milk, flown in direct from Thailand weekly, to evoke the traditional flavour of Thai cookery.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We made a weekend evening booking for six to celebrate a birthday using the a la carte menu. Although the final bill was not cheap, the quality of ingredients and smilingly unobtrusive service made for a very special and enjoyable evening. We will return in the future to sample some of the set menu offers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank orrellvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, Guest Relations Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and your birthday with us. We always love hearing what our customers have to say about their experience with us and it's always a pleasure knowing it was a positive one with us. Thank you again for taking the time to write a great review with us and we look forward to seeing you again !

Pim
Management team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Tavern is always good, fresh, very aromatic food, tasty! This is the restaurant we're not afraid of taking out of town friends to, or parents or business partner, delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martyn_Leman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, General Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with us, we are always satisfied when we see a positive review written by our customers. Thank you for your kind words about your meal with us. We are very pleased you and your friends enjoyed your time with us here at the Tavern Bar & Thai Restaurant. We hope to see you again in the future!

Jessica
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Out of towners. Stumbled across tavern as unsure where anything is. Excellent find. Fresh, tasty and excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alittletipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, General Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with us.We are very pleased your first visit with us was an successful one. Thank you for taking some photos, the pictures you have took look great! We hope to see you again when you are next in Wigan!

Jessica
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I will not beat about the bush with loads of words... I will sum this place up with just one. FANTASTIC. We are not lovers of town centre eating as we adore the English country restaurants, however, there are not many oriental dining experiences to be had in the middle of nowhere. The Thai at the tavern is well worth the deviation. The staff, the food, the venue, the quality, the price, the experience is fantastic on every count. It is well worth a visit if you have never been before, if you have, then you should be writing this revue. Thank you again for a 1st class evening. Dave & Elizabeth from Orrell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveyB0y51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, General Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Dave & Elizabeth. We are so pleased that you had another fantastic evening with us. We are very glad that on another visit you enjoyed your meal with us again. Our aim is to always please our customers and always feel delighted when they are.We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jessica
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A table was booked last minute for my sisters birthday. Upon arriving there were only the three of us in the bar, plus staff so I thought it was going to be a quiet one so was surprised when staff said it was busy upstairs. The bar area was nicely decorated, quite an improvement from when I worked behind the bar here 20 years ago.
Upstairs in the restaurant the atmosphere and deco' is warm, welcoming and quite impressive.
The staff were happy, polite and helpful. The food was the best Thai I have had in a long time, possibly ever. The prices were reasonable with many daily offers available. I will be returning and recommending to friends.
The only thing I wasn't really impressed with was the music, I don't think it was Thai and it wasn't very fitting but this restaurant gets 5*'s from me regardless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank campersahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, General Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi there. We are very pleased you had an successful meal with us. We are also happy to know you were happy with the service you received. We will take your advice on board , we always like to know what our customers think and what we can do to improve ourselves ! We look forward to seeing you again.

Jessica
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ashton in Makerfield, Wigan
Ashton in Makerfield, Wigan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing