We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food. Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Rich in its Eastern references, The Tavern Bar and Thai Restaurant offers Wigan���s diners a sumptuous dining experience with a strong Thai feel. Passers by may mistake The Tavern to be just another high-end pub but stepping inside this old Victorian drinking establishment, you���ll discover an exciting fusion of East and West, the antique wood carved bar surrounded by high tables and stools yet lit by printed silk lamps and dotted with pretty pink orchids. Through to the expansive dining room, The Tavern becomes increasingly sophisticated with a romantic atmosphere. The space is surrounded by beautiful Thai artefacts and yet more plants, the lighting low and warm and tables generously spaced. As well as the traditional dishes Thai restaurants are known for, The Tavern���s talented kitchen offers a fine selection of its own creative takes on South East Asian cuisine, using authentic ingredients such as lemongrass, galangal and coconut milk, flown in direct from Thailand weekly, to evoke the traditional flavour of Thai cookery.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

As a Wigan local now living abroad, I was amazed to find this treasure by the town centre.
On my return trips, we always make a family visit here and at The Stables.
Very good food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with us! We are always pleased knowing our customers have had a satisfying meal with us and enjoyed their time at The Tavern Bar & Thai Restaurant . Our main objective is to make sure our customers are 100% happy and we are always content knowing they are. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jessica
Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    37
    8
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great place to eat with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had to spend the night in Wigan with work commitments. We decided to eat at the Tavern. What a great place, very friendly and a warm welcome. We didn't book and it was busy, however they accommodated us in no time. Great food and wine choices. The food was lovely we all enjoyed it and we all agreed that wee would head back to the Tavern when in Wigan again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, General Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with us! We are always pleased knowing our customers have had a satisfying meal with us and enjoyed their time at The Tavern Bar & Thai Restaurant . Our main objective is to make sure our customers are 100% happy and we are always content knowing they are. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have visited here twice now since reading reviews on trip advisor and have really enjoyed the food on both occasions. Service was very good - reasonable waiting times between courses, staff are friendly and quick with drinks orders. The menu has plenty of variety and is reasonably priced. There are also a couple of fixed price menus at lunchtime and early evening as well.

I'd never tried thai food before so admittedly have nothing to compare the dishes against, but I can say that we've found everything so far to taste homemade, fresh and flavoursome. Restaurant is on the first floor - is well set out and has a nice ambience even if there aren't that many people in. Will be visiting again :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRae205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review with us. We are very pleased with how well your visit went with us , and particularly glad your first try with Thai food was a good one. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Jessica
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In my opinion, the best restaurant in Wigan.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have visited this restaurant several times (about 5) with my friends and this tells the story in short.

The food is amazing, the service is brilliant, absolutely beyond any I have seen in the north-west of England (including Manchester).

I highly recommend the prawn starter dishes, the jungle curry (please try with egg fried rice) and my favourite 'Pandanus' leaves dessert! Gorgeous.

The ambience is very cozy, plush, posh. I can feel like its a different country inside and lots of tables so there is no waiting time as such on a regular day.

I have been amazed a couple of times, where the young Thai girl who was serving me remembered what my friends and I liked to drink !!! And we are talking about more than 5 people!!!

I really appreciate the girls who were serving, because there was even one time they waited for us past 11 to finish our desserts, and still smiling :) That was very touching.

Keep smiling. You all work so hard!
Keep it up Tavern Bar, the restaurant does not deserve to be this quiet, this is my only complaint. You certainly know that its not just about food, its about touching the soul with great service and great good. Well done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACKing_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review with us! It's always satisfying to us when we know our customers always have a positive visit with us . We want our customers to feel 100% comfortable and happy with our service throughout your time with us , and particularly glad that you enjoyed your meal and had a great time with your friends . We will always keep smiling for all our customers and were very content with how you have responded to our service . Thank you very much again and we hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, Lovely setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here 3 times now, twice as a couple and once as a family. The setting and decor is lovely. On our most recent visit, we got to sit up in the balcony area, which was nice. The food is fantastic and the sex on the beach style cocktail was great. Highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk2523, Manager at The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you Tracey for the great feedback . We're very pleased you and your family had a great meal with us and you enjoyed your cocktail ! If you would like to sit there again we are more than happy to accommodate your needs .We definitely hope to see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Bar&Thai Restaurant also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton in Makerfield, Wigan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing