We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wigan over night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Wigan
Reviewed November 13, 2012

on our recent overnight stops at the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel we found the staff of this hotel to be kind considerate and efficient, the superior rooms we had were clean comfortable and cosy the meals were tasty and well cooked with a good selection. we would have no hesitation recommending this hotel for a stop over or a longer stay Mr Mrs r Chaplain and Miss Condra Kerr

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you especially for your kind comments regarding the staff, as customer care is always so important to us.

I have passed your comments on to my Head Housekeeper and Head Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 564 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had to book this hotel at short notice to attend a family funeral. Check-in, check-out were smooth, the room was quiet without being overheated we overlooked the main road but there was no disturbance from traffic. Access was also good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Please accept my condolences on your loss. I was very pleased to read that you found your stay comfortable and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We couldnt fault this hotel, was here for a short break booked through travel zoo. Great value all inclusive deal, which the mercure hotel chain sometimes have advertised on thier own website. We paid aprox £85.00 each, for that we got bed,huge breakfast, lunch, 2 course evening meal, free drinks after 7.00pm which included red, white wine and lager so we was very happy. With the option of an early check in and late check out, and free tea and coffee all day, it is the best value for money break ever. The price was for 2 nights.
The food at the wigan hotel is outstanding huge breakfast cooked to perfection, we chose homemade fish and chips for lunch, and only just had room for our 2 course evening meal, which was superb. The food is always piping hot, tasty and plentyful.
Staff was really helpfull and friendly, beds are huge and very comfy, rooms are spotlessly clean
Just cannot fault it.
There are loads of shops 5 min walk from the hotel so it is very central. Brilliant break, we have been to a few of the mercure hotels they are all really good, sometimes we had been upgraded to a suite, instead of a double room which was lovely. But the one thing i will remember about the mercure hotel wigan is the food, brilliant,compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swithy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We constantly make every effort to ensure that each and every guest's stay is as enjoyable and comfortable as possible so everyone here was delighted to read your wonderful comments.

We hope that you will choose the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel for your next visit to Wigan and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights on business trip. Hot Breakfast buffet starts at 0630 weekdays and 0700 weekends. Clean room. Need separate wifi code for each item. Good menu selection from the restaurant, will try them next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YeeSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We do find that guests enjoy our town centre location, making it ideal for them to visit the local shops and attractions. Each and every customer is important to us and we will always do our best to ensure that their stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

Please contact us the next time you need accommodation, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Myself and a group of friends stayed there last weekend for 2 nights as part of their all inclusive deal. We all had a great time. The staff were fantastic. Food was superb and the rooms spotlessly clean. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mancunian247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. It is very rewarding when we receive such kind comments as yours and I will ensure that I thank all the staff on your behalf.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Booked a two night stay through Travelzoo as Wigan were playing West Ham and my partner wanted to go and watch the football.

Staff are extremely friendly and special mention has to go to the receptionist who was on duty when we arrived (apologies but I never caught her name). She had to deal with a rather large group of (loud and rude) Dutch men but she was polite and professional with them and even apologised to us when it came to our turn (even though we really didnt have to wait that long to be seen). She even mentioned that she had arranged for our room to be well away from the Dutch group (!!) and was helpful in explaining where Wigan Pier was, instructions on how to get to the football ground and generally really lovely. In fact, all staff were friendly and chatty.

Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre. The first night we were there we didnt eat in the hotel, but found a lovely Italian about 15 mins walk away. The second night we dined in the hotel. Food was hot, tasty and served quickly, although we were the only ones in the restaurant that night!!

Rooms were designed in a contemporary fashion and the bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept on. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was hot.

There is also free WiFi throughout the hotel which my and my partner used as we were relaxing in the bar area having a drink.

We have stayed in several Mercure hotels as part of the All Inclusive deal with Hotelshop and we both decided that the Wigan Oak was one of the nicest we have stayed in, for both location, staff, ambience and food.

Thank you for making it a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandraAngmering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

I was delighted to read your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay. As customer care is of the utmost importance to us, it's always nice to read comments such as yours and I have passed a copy of these to all departments.

We're glad that we helped to make your weekend enjoyable and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for 1 Thursday night on our way to Wales for the Scotland game. Only 10-15 minutes walk from railway station, comfy bed, fantastic shower and fried breakfast buffet style. Needed about 6 cups of coffee and the waitresses were always there within seconds. Thanks also to Shain for changing a booking that was made through booking.com and was termed as "uncancelable". We had to cancel and book another date due to Wigan v Man U game being changed at short notice. Lesson to self - book direct through this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillieBoab39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased that you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable and, in particular, that we were able to amend your reservation - I have passed on your comments to Shain.

Please do feel free to contact us directly the next time you need accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigan
0.7 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
3.3 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
1.2 mi away
Coaching Inn Hotel
Coaching Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Wigan
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Address: Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range: $60 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Wigan for business, taking in a game of Rugby or football or simply a relaxing weekend away, The Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel will make you feel right at home with its welcoming atmosphere and first-class cuisine and if you are a golfer, you'll be in seventh heaven too as we've negotiated preferential rates on the 9 and 18 hole courses at Haigh Hall Golf Complex. The hotel offers free parking and free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigan Quality Hotel
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing