We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Sorrento Orrell

Sorrento Orrell
Ranked #15 of 398 Restaurants in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had dinner on the 27th this month, we chose from the special menu.....Linguine, with king prawns and mussels, in white wine sauce....as well as the pork medallions, in a rich tomato sauce, as ever excellent quality and price, great staff, great restaurant can not fault.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank madaboutsportltd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    53
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No toilet tissue”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My visit to sorrento were alreet like, food were ded gud ant service people were reet nice. I had pasgetti allao americanos, it were like long rice wi ketchup on it but different like. Anyway about halfway throwt meal I needed toilet, am they were no paper in toilet room! I mean how dos a persen tidy up wi out toilet. Paper? Maybe its a italien thing im not sure? Anyway food an that was good so yea this place is alrite x

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank beccatoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We recently visited this restaurant, and found the staff very welcoming, great service, and excellent food....try the specials menu....cod in tomato sauce with capers and olives was possibly the best meal i have had in a long time, there is also a great relaxed atmosphere, and to crown the evening the prices offer excellent value...would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andywoodward2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas Carols in February?”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Enjoyed a very pleasant evening with a dear friend last night but we were at first interrupted constantly by OTT waiters. Anyway my friend put a stop to it when she asked for peace and quiet for 10 minutes;-) and then we couldn't get their attention. My advice to the waiters is not to assume that all dining ladies of a certain age are amused by their antics. More subtlety and restraint please. Food and drinks were fine. The Christmas carols were a bit wierd. A Wigan

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a quiet meal for two”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

a visit to Sorrento, mid week and in the early evening was very pleasant and the food was delicious. The staff were lovely - very friendly, and - tricky to express this as the restaurant was still very quiet - attentive to the point of us feeling smothered by attention. At a busier time, this might not have been the case but 5 visits to the table within 10 minutes was quite disruptive to the flow of conversation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orrellvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Orrell also viewed

 
Formby, Merseyside
 

Been to Sorrento Orrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing