We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome end to 2013”

Shanghai Palace Chinese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hawes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“awesome end to 2013”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

the restaurant is large and spacious, a fine bar lounge area.... attentive staff.... extensive menu choice at very reasonable prices............ food was awesome....

between the four of us.... we had chicken wings and satay starters.... dim sum platter and peking duck.... nothing left on the plates..... the sizzling platters were delicious....

fine wine list.....

simply could not fault anything

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    45
    15
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A brilliant resaurant!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I went to the Shanghai palace for a meal with my wife,daughter, her husband and 2 grandchildren . The decor is outstanding. I was amazed how beautiful it was.
The food is the best Chinese meal i have ever had.a comment that was echoed by everyone in our party.
Cant wait to return,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Chinese in Wigan”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a birthday in the family. Instead of a banquet we all ordered separate dishes and shared. Our favourites were the king prawns in batter and spring onion and the salt and pepper chicken. The main courses were all good and the price was reasonable. All in all very good

Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First visit - excellent quality Chinese food”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

On walking through the door, you're met with superb surroundings and an amazingly friendly and helpful staff. We ordered a mix from the £6.50 business lunch and the very varied a-la-carte. The chicken and sweetcorn soup arrived in a large bowl with 2 full portions each for three of us. It was deliciously light and lacked the glutinous taste provided by many inferior Chinese restaurants. The lamb with ginger and spring onions was amazing; the sweet and sour was perfectly cooked with deliciously tender chicken and a light and crispy thin batter; the garlic and black bean sauce with slices of red chilli was the best I've tasted in many years. The prices are so good, the quality amazing and the staff are brilliant - they actually like helping customers enjoy their food and dining experience. Will definitely be back to what I now know is easily the best Chinese restaurant in Wigan if not further. Thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank curryfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Called in on way home for eary tea ”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Passed this restaurant many times but it never looked inviting, so we took a chance, how wrong can you be, inside it looks fabulous, the staff really friendly they even took some of the vegetables out my meal (not a fan of veg) the food was really nice and good portions, we decided against the early evening menu as the main menu had such a good choice.
Well worth a visit don't be put off by outside.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton in Makerfield, Wigan
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing