We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bellingham Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Wigan B&B and Inns
birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a dump”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

THE BAD :- wallpaper hanging from the walls, 6 tiles missing above the toilet, no shower curtain,carpet dirty bathroom dirty, 3 channels on the tv. breakfast was served waited 10 min for a knife and fork to eat it with although i had asked 2 times,

THE GOOD :- NOTHING !!

Room Tip: really dont bother it was that bad !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbeddows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    23
    9
    16
    49
See reviews for
36
33
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here through work. How fortunate was I........ Maybe not. Staff are pleasant and seem to smile. Rooms are very poor. No hot water when I stayed. Breakfast was not on the cards as the chef!!!!! Had not turned up.... Ideal just tolay your head on a pillow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stutours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wigan hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We ha our wedding at the Bellingham in August 2013. The room in which we were married, had the wedding breakfast & evening party was perfect it looked amazing. Although some of the hotel rooms are dated and in need of decoration the staff at the Bellingham are amazing and will do everything they can to help in any way.

The food that was served for the sit down meal and the buffet was beautiful and I was very impressed with the hand carved cooked meats that were served on the buffet. The breakfast served in the morning was lovely too.

I am so glad that we booked our wedding at the Bellingham. Not only is it very good value for money but the staff made our day perfect and a very big thank you to Richard who made our day as wonderful as it was.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahayes8956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel or hostel?
Our stay here started off bad and got gradually worse.
Had a phone call less than an hour before arrival to advise there was no hot water - which the hotel had known for 3 weeks and had no attempt to fix the water or contact the customers sooner so we could make other arrangements. There cancellation policy for customers is 24hours before arrival but they see fit to only advise of problems one hour before check in! Leaving us with no option but to stay here, and therefore trapped into a transaction. They offered a discount of 20% to compensation which is insulting. All guests had to use a communal bathroom, this made it more of a hostel than a hotel.
Hotel and bar area in general are tired, worn and dated with the restaurant looking like it has recently been refurbished it only makes the rest of the hotel look more dated and scruffy.
Our room had three beds and a pull out bed/sofa for two of us. Blinds falling off the three windows, dirty carpet, crack down the toilet and a very dirty looking bathroom - no hot water.
Breakfast, was just as shocking. Some reviews on trip advisor mention how lovely the breakfast is but I have a feeling they must have been eating somewhere else! Undercooked food and a waiter who's personal hygiene and general appearance leaves a lot to be desired.
The manager has no interest in the customers requirement and has an air of arrogance. When we complained he even used the excuse that the hotel is a struggling establishment and this was the reason why he could not discount our room further. Struggling due to bad customer service and facilities I feel?
All in all - the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and I would advise customers to seek other options to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaewynLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

no hot water in all but 3 rooms paint coming off the wall in corridor .carpets need cleaning hotel needs decorating found tissue with blood under matters.2 single beds put together as i booked a double .staff in restaurant for breakfast had no manners .another guest was given a jar of jam which was 7 months out of date also the was not ready when we arrived so we was given another room other guests were afraid to complain because of staff attitude would not stay again . when complained on check out the receptionist did not seem to care.bed was comfy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevewebb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel building is lovely. We were told when we checked in that our room had no hot water due to the boiler being broken. No other rooms available. Got the impression it had been broken for a while. There is no 24 hour residents bar although it says on website that there is. 50 minute wait for breakfast. General service overall was not very good, everything seemed like too much effort. Would not go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

what can i say ? the staff were great yet again and we had a lovely stay again from the 5th july to the 7th. we had a lovely meal in the restaurant steak and salad it was delicious ! the service at the bellingham is great and we love to go back there as often as possible. we are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wigan hotels
0.3 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coaching Inn Hotel
Coaching Inn Hotel
#9 of 11 in Wigan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
5.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellingham Hotel

Property: The Bellingham Hotel
Address: 141-149 Wigan Lane, Wigan WN1 2NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bellingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Wigan is The Bellingham Hotel, Bar and Restaurant. The Bellingham Hotel's 33 luxuriously appointed bedrooms include single, twin, double, executive, family rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bellingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellingham Hotel Wigan, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing