We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family do” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venture

Venture
Ranked #58 of 393 Restaurants in Wigan
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wigan,England
Level Contributor
1 review
“Family do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Food and beer better than thought.service at bar quite slow,educate the staff in customer service. Very sport based, fine for me not so for most as commentary on very loud. Real ale kept well and not too cold

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank apollokitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    55
    29
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“To long to wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The food is great but but but the servic no good only won on and she is serving and serving food as well to whom this concern get your act to get her put people first

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“no food left!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

went at 7,30 sun evening and my meal resembled nothing like it did in the menu,just garden peas for veg and dried lamb,wudnt visit again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very warm friendly staff,wholesome goof grub :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a family celebration here and really enjoyed our evening. There were around twelve of us dining and everyone enjoyed their experience and food equally. Everything was of a good if not an excellent standard and the service from the staff was warm and welcoming.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bev h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I surprise myself when I write that I have been to this pub more than once, but for some reason I have. However, there is usually several months between the few visits to allow me to forget the taste of the food.

On paper, ie the menu, it sounds too good to be true. A mixed grill for sround £7! And, as they say, if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is. The quailty of the food is sub standard. Very dry, overcooked meat, tasteless chips served on a hot plate which continues to cook the food.

I would not recommend this venue as you can certainly cook food better yourselves. I endeavour to remember this review myself and not return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Connor_Dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Venture, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi ConMac_01
We were sorry to hear about your recent experience and I would like to investigate your comments further.
I will send a private message for contact details.
Many thanks
Guest Service
FG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venture also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Venture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing