We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Situated near sunflower fields and vines - a...”
other travelers have booked this property
Your gite opening onto pool and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your gite opening onto pool and garden
Your garden room/terrace opening upon the pool area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Your gite opening onto pool and garden
Your garden room/terrace opening upon the pool area
Garden outside your gite
View from your garden room/terrace, across pool, garden & valley beyond
Your superb all-weather garden room with sliding glass doors
Your gite to the right, owners house to the left - privacy guaranteed !
Acre of garden outside pool area
Your view across the pool to the village church on the hill ...
Paradise at night as well ...
A swim under the stars perhaps ?
Fully equipped kitchen & dining room
Comfortable living room with log fire (if needed !)
Main bedroom, with french window views across rolling countryside
Space in the garden to get away from it all !
View from main bedroom  in July
Surrounded by vineyards, sunflowers & rolling countryside
Just 10 mins drive to Gironde Esuary & nature reserve
3 lovely beaches at Meschers - 30 mins drive
Blaye citadel - views over estuary & surrounded by vineyards
Could be from a California holiday brochure !
Glass doors closed and you're in a world of your own - but still in the garden !
Vineyards all around - spend a day wine tasting !
Cosmopolitan La Rochelle - just over 1 hour - motorway all the way
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Semoussac, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jet802582
1 review
“Situated near sunflower fields and vines - a piece of heaven on earth.”
Reviewed August 25, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A beautiful gite with a stunning private pool and garden area. This place provides rest and relaxation in abundance.
Chris and Martin offer a warm welcome on arrival and throughout your stay remain discreet but are always available if required.
The welcome pack is excellent - no need to head to the supermarket on arrival - plenty goodies to enjoy.
The gite is very well equipped and offers a great terrace space for relaxing and watching the world go by with a glass or two! of local wine.
There is up to date information of where to go and what to see should you wish to visit the surronding areas which are beautiful.
Nice places to eat along the estuary with beaches not too far away - lots to do and see should you require it.
Having returned for the past 5 years we never tire of this beautiful spot. Would highly reccomend it to completely recharge the batteries.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Thanks for the review ! It's been a pleasure welcoming you back over the last 5 years - and other family members before that ! Glad we are discrete as ever ! Looking forward to seeing you again next time - the garden (and wine !) await !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammytrav...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“JUST PERFECT”
Reviewed August 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

If you are looking to relax and unwind in a tranquil, beautiful setting in the company of 2 non intrusive gite owners ... look no further.
The gite itself has all you will need, lots of space (both indoors and outsoors), an impeccable pool (Seriously! Sparkling clean!), and the location is just brilliant... St. Emilion, Bordeaux, La Rochelle, Royan, Blaye ... all very quick to reach.
We booked for 2 weeks ... on the second night I actually watched my husband's shoulders visibly relax ... and we immediately rebooked for next summer!
Chris and Martin are perfect hosts and we very much enjoyed our chats and their advice on the area.
Already counting down to our next visit.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2018
Su : many thanks for your generous review ! Chris is delighted that the pool was sparkling clean ! We think it's the first time someone's asked to book again within 2 days of having arrived - most at least wait to the end of their holiday ! We look forward to welcoming you all back next year - the cool terrace awaits the lovely Gertie and the pool and view for the 2 legged guests ! Thanks again ! Chris and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthy09
lytham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class.....”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

From the moment we booked the holiday last year...to saying goodbye..it was faultless. It is true what all the reviews say Chris & Martin really are the best hosts. The attention to detail is what makes the difference.....they want you to have the best holiday experience and will do their utmost to ensure it happens.

The garden room is devine and I could sit for hours looking out at the view...Mick would have spent hours in the pool, but there are so many lovely places to go I had to drag him away! Chris and Martin do give great advice about the locality.

The place was spotless clean and very comfortable.....and no time wasted on our return to spend a day doing all the washing.

I would definitely recommend a stay here you will not be disappointed, Chris and Martin thank you for a very relaxing holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2018
That's a lovely review - many thanks ! We're pleased you managed to drag Mick out of the pool occasionally to sample the delights of local places to visit ! And you returned home without washing to do ! It was a real pleasure welcoming you - you were perfect guests ! Thanks again ! Chris and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Heavenly!”
Reviewed April 24, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely perfect! Chris and Martin are the most wonderful, attentive yet discreet hosts. The cottage is perfect with a most beautiful garden room providing ample clear views of the stunning swimming pool and gorgeous garden and the peaceful French countryside beyond. Chris and Martin made sure that we would want for nothing and they achieved this seemingly effortlessly, yet their thoughtfulness is clear wherever you look. The kitchen is very well equipped and being trusted with a sharp knife was much appreciated!! The stairs to the first floor added to the joy of going to bed and the mattress was so comfortable that we ordered the very same one for delivery whilst on the ferry crossing home!
The location is perfect and with extremely knowledgeable touristic guidance from both Martin and Chris, our days out were longer than originally planned as we enjoyed the estuary harbour villages and those restaurants that were open at this time of the year. Days in were spent in the beautifully manicured garden (well done Martin!) and by the stunning pool. Despite the artic temperatures of the water (well, it was April), the pool was so inviting and the weather so warm, one had to take goose bumps to a new level and swim a few lengths. I am pleased to say that I have now regained feeling in my frozen toes (and all are accounted for!).
My wife and I needed a break following our long British Winter (started around August 2017 I think) and were seeking privacy, peace and tranquillity to recharge our spent batteries. We achieved this in abundance and more. Chris and Martin are the most wonderful, warm, kind and generous hosts and we very much look forward to the opportunity to re-visit later this year.
A big Thank You Martin and Chris from Chris and June xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2018
Chris and June - Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind and generous review ! It was a real pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay !

And we think it's a 1st that someone's bought a mattress as a result of liking the gite's so much ! We're glad we decided to renew it - we usually do every year and it's great to know it's appreciated !!

But usually it's the wine people buy to take back with them !

We look forward to welcoming you both back !

Best wishes. Chris and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree C
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice cottage house”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely place to stay in A great enviroment with very Nice owners
You feel really welcome
Lot of Nice details, great garden with wonderful view. Near Lovely places like Bordeaux, Saintes and La Rochelle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Desiree

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday at the gite - and that the weather was a lot better than you returned to in the Netherlands !

Hartelijk dank voor uw mooie recensie. We zijn verheugd dat u van uw vakantie in de gite genoten was - en dat het weer veel beter was dan u terugkeerde naar Nederland!

Chris and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A perfect sanctuary for those in need of some peace and tranquility, which we certainly were!
When we weren't swimming in the pool, we lazed around in the lovely garden, amongst the pots of geraniums, gazing at the views and basking in the sunshine.
On more energetic days we enjoyed exploring local villages and markets, taking advantage of the excellent (and very cheap) mussels and oysters. (Great cooking facilities at the gite.)
Martin was always on hand with weather updates, directions and advice about where to go (and chats, which we enjoyed!)
As already stated in other reviews, the gite was fantastically well equipped and comfortable, beautifully clean and the bed was really comfy (very important and not always the case in our experience!)
The only downside was that the week flew by so quickly. We've already booked again for next year and are counting down the days!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Sarah

Many thanks for your lovely review ! It was a great pleasure to welcome you and we're delighted to be able to look forward to welcoming you back next year !

Your favourite spot at the end of the pool, gazing out across the valley to Semoussac church on the hill, will be waiting for you !

Thanks again. Martin and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Mike - many thanks for your very kind review. We are delighted to hear that you found your 2nd visit to La Vieille Grange to be as welcoming as the 1st ! For our part, it was a pleasure to see 2 guests who were so clearly enjoying everything - figs and apples included ! We look forward to welcoming you both back again in due course. Best wishes, Chris and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing