We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Spot”
Review of Tia's

Tia's
Ranked #22 of 309 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Freshly prepared authentic Mexican cuisine including enchiladas, chimichangas, fajitas. Our menu also includes slow cooked ribs, handmade pizzas, fish, chicken and steak dishes. Food is cooked to order, so we can adjust our dishes to suit individual dietary requirements ie gluten free, vegan, dairy free etc. Please let us know any dietary requirements or allergens upon arrival. We have an extensive cocktail list as well as a wide selection of wines, beers, spirits and soft drinks.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Spot”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went on a whim, but I have to say it was fun! The hostess was LOVELY and their Mexican food is the best in Durham. Skip Chaquito, go here. Authentic and homey.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felicity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    80
    24
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly service and lovely food.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a lovely meal here, food tasted really nice and was good value for money. The service was extremely friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blunderbus_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent, But Nothing Special”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Tia's is a nice little restaurant that on the face of it gives a refreshing relief from all the nearby chains. The Tex-Mex food is roughly the quality of Chiquito's but without that mass-marketed feel, and the portions are generous. (I can't really pass comment on the Mediterranean/Pizza side of the menu as I haven't tried it).

The waiting staff are all friendly, although it can be a bit hard to get their attention, even when you're hovering in the doorway having just entered, which is a pain. On a previous occasion they also made a mistake with our order (happily not this time though, and they didn't charge us for the dish in question at the time). The atmosphere can also be a bit canteen-ish when there's some loud groups in, but that's not really the restaurant's fault although it does affect one's experience of the place.

All in all it's nothing special but the quality of food is good and if you go in happy hour it definitely is great value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Num34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simple and friendly”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Cozy little restaurant. Friendly service and the food was excellent. Conveniently located on the Claypath near the city centre.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank john_ramsey_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't eat for a week!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It made sense for me and my partner to try this place when we were in Durham as it serves meat and has a separate vegan menu. Was really hard to decide went for the Tia's rose starter for 2 and was stuffed after just that - it was lovely. Both had pizzas for mains mine vegan and his meat they were lovely though I wanted to try everything on the vegan menu. The cocktails were also great as was the service, the lady asked me before i could even ask if i wanted to take the 1/2 pizza i couldn't manage home which of course i did and was just as delicious cold the next day. Partner had a dessert which he was v impressed with choc fudge cake which came with cream, vanilla icecream and choc icecream. Yum all round

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia's also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Tia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing