We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a lovely setting”

Bella Italia Durham
Ranked #71 of 312 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Bella Italia in Durham boasts a beautiful city location tucked away beside the River Wear at the bottom of Silver Street. Step inside the pretty entrance and dine in the charming conservatory dining room with views overlooking the river and the bridge. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the Durham Bella Italia is a popular destination not just for the lovely views but for its well priced Italian dishes such as beef and pork meatballs in a rich tomato sauce served on spaghetti or the smoked salmon, prawns and cherry tomatoes served on penne pasta with a spinach, saffron and cream sauce. Bella Italia Durham is a real gem of a restaurant.
Kidderminster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This restaurant sits right on the bank of the River Wear. It just couldn't be closer.
It is part of a chain so the food is predictable. But it is reliable and it is good.
It's a nice atmosphere in here and being perched on the riverside gives it a special appeal.
We booked a table on the internet and the system worked fine.
We'll be going back for sure next time we visit Durham.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    166
    87
    58
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a change it is to find someone who does excellent gluten free food. Excellent with my little boy too. Only draw back is the steps. Not good for the disabled, but food is fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smithynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely setting and friendly staff”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Group of 4 of us had a weekend away in Durham and stayed for 3 nights. We ended up eating here twice as the 1st visit was so good.

The restaurant is part of a chain but the menu is varied and the food very tasty.

As with any restaurant, the staff make the place and the guys and girls in Durham are friendly and attentive without been in your face all the time.

The restaurant has a lovely setting over looking the river and is therefore well worth a visit during the day as well as at night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian42uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Evening dinner in great location”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were staying Durham for a short break and wandered round city centre and found Bella Italia and we picked it for initially its riverside location and menu. It was a quiet Sunday and we had a river view. I picked from the menu pasta with shredded duck which I do not think i had seen on an Italian menu, but it was very tasty. My partner (vegitarian) had pizza which was excellent tasty and was just like the best homemade pizza. The only disappointment was the service, it was not bad, but the staff seemed fed up, maybe it was because it was a quiet Sunday? This however should not put you off as the food was very good and the Timarsiu was one of the best I have had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing Flash”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited on a Tuesday lunchtime so it was lovely and quiet and we got a table over looking the river - although a rainy day, the view was nice whilst eating.

Service was quick which explains the average tasting food we received. I have ate better in a Weatherspoons!

Staff were friendly however I wouldn't recommend or return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Durham also viewed

Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Bella Italia Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing