We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most perfect place ever”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Butterfly Cottage

Butterfly Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
The Hillside Setting
view from the cottage balcony
kitchen
Dining table with complimentary wine, chocolates flowers on arrival
Wood burning stove
Downstairs mini vestibule
bathroom en suite
waterfall at Westgate
the neighbours!
Well bank
the Hamlet of Newhouse
the church at St Johns chapel
Chatterbox café in St Johns Chapel
Winter sunset at Burnhope reservoir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosemary...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The most perfect place ever”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

11th visit - can't get enough of the lovely, tranquil cottage. Views splendid as are the hosts. Running out of superlatives - have said it all before. Feels like a second home now.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2018
It is always lovely to see you both, do come back again :) !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKotecha
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This is a lovely cottage located in a very underrated beautiful part of the country. Everyone is so friendly and the landscapes are amazing. Thank you, Anita and Bruce, for our great welcome pack. Fantastic hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2018
Thank you for this lovely review. Weardale is a well kept secret!! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W
2 reviews
“Perfect Couples Retreat”
Reviewed November 16, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The views are beautiful, the cottage exceeded expectations and the reception of fresh bread,scented candles and music really gave it that extra touch.
We had a lovely walk along the river to a couple of pubs/cafes in the near by village.
The kitchen is well equipped for cooking, lovely deep bath and a log burner.
If you are looking for somewhere to kick back this will definitely tick all your boxes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trek39793...
1 review
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Stayed a couple of nights after my wife's 50 birthday celebrations
Great place to stay for rest and relaxation,hosts where great and made us feel very welcome.
Would definitely stay again, may be a bit earlier in the year when there is more places open to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2018
Many thanks for your smashing review we would love to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed November 4, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

10th visit to the most amazing holiday cottage ever. 11th stay already booked. Everything is always spot on - still can't get the mattress in the car tho. Such comfy nights of sleep. Lovely local walks - accessible even for husband who has to use mobility scooter. Enjoyed a snack in "Maxine's" coffee shop, scones, jam and cream were delicious - Mysty our rough collie liked her complimentary dish of cheese and bowl of water. Handy Co-op with all the provisions you could need. Love the cottage, feels like a second home, the goodies waiting for us are so welcome - as are the lovely candles and soft music as we arrive. Loved the Halloween decorations too. Anita and Bruce are amazing hosts - so very much recommended - thank you lots xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
So pleased you had a pleasant stay. We really love the tearoom in St John's chapel and regularly pop in for lunch. Our dogs love the cheese too! Looking forward to your next visit and having the 2 poochies to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ken p
1 review
“Very nice cottage”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Very well appointed, great location and helpful owners. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you......

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2018
Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMow
Derbyshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Gorgeous little cottage was perfect for the two of us and our little dog.
Beautifully decorated throughout with lots of interesting bits and pieces on walls and windowsills. Wine and chocolate and home cooked bread on arrival ... very much appreciated.
Bedroom and bathroom very good, comfy bed, all very clean and tidy.
Would have loved to stay much longer - but very pleased to get a 2 night stay at a very reasonable cost.
Coop at St John's Chapel handy for our shopping needs, and went to the Chatterbox cafe for breakfast - which was excellent.
Excellent stay, very happy to recommend to others, and hope to be able to stay again ourselves - as soon as possible!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and it's always good to hear about positive experiences guests have with local businesses as well. Please do come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing