We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle View Guest House
Ranked #4 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here again whilst visiting friends in Durham. The hotel has been refurbished since I last visited and I must say the room I stayed in was excellent, a good size, beautifully decorated and very clean. I find having tea and coffee facilities very handy too. The breakfast is excellent and all the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help ! The location is also perfect, it is very central so you can walk to all the attractions, castle and cathedral etc and is a 5 minute walk from the train station, very handy ! I will definitely be returning whenever I am next in Durham.

Many thanks for an excellent stay !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaemackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
A pleasure to welcome you back and really glad you like our new rooms.
Hope u are able to come again as you say and thank you for your review
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    45
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
98
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

On a trip to Edinburgh, my train was delayed at Durham station.
I have travelled many times from London to Scotland but never actually got off and seen Durham.
The view of the cathedral at sunset from the station is absolutely beautiful and on the spur of the moment i got off the train.What the heck,why not.
I asked the first taxi to take me to a good central b n b ( half expecting to be taken to his brothers house) and he dropped me about 1 minute away at Castleview Guesthouse. I could have walked really but when i saw the view from here i knew it was the right place for me.
I asked for a room with a view and was given room 4.
I was not expecting such a cracking room and winced at the price that i would have to pay in edinburgh for such a room. But this was less than £80.
It had a great view of the cathedral and i still caught about half n hour of sunset bathed over the cathedral from a perfect little window seat.
After a shower in a nipping clean bathroom that had obviously been renovated very recently, i took a walk around town.
The house owner were on holiday but the son(david) of the house recommended a walk up South st (the next street along)to Prebends bridge and over to the cathedral island. I recommend it too. A simple walk had so much going for it.
I had a pint of bitter at the shakespere pub and finished davids circular route back to the b n b.
Quite a perfect simple evening i thought something must go wrong,but it never materialised.
I had a great nights sleep in a bed fit for a 5 star hotel and couldn't lay any fault with the breakfast.
The breakfast room was busy for a january i thought, but that always tells you something about a place.I was served by a lovely young lady who had the breakfast room running very smoothly. David checked me out and pointed a quick route to the train station without need for a car and i caught the early train to Edinburgh thinking, thats whats beautiful about small cities like Durham and small hotels like CastleVIew. Sometimes you do get lucky when you take chance( or your trains delayed.)

Room Tip: I had room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks Kevin - as you say lucky for you and lucky for us to get such an appreciative drop in guest.
Thanks for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Met some friends for the first time in Castle view and shared breakfast with them in the large comfortable dining room. we have been in touch again and plan to meet again in Tokyo our home city.
We all agreed that this was the best place we stayed on our tour.
would like to stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
It means a lot to ourselves and staff
Hope your friendship flourishes and you remember where you met
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I spent one night at this establishment and really couldn't fault it. My single room was cosy and beautifully decorated, with everything I could have wished for. The en-suite was stylish and spotless. The breakfast was delicious and served in a delightful airy room. The service was friendly and attentive and the food itself was superb - I was even offered a fruit smoothy.
The only slight downside (and it wasn't an issue for me on this occasion) is the on-street parking. I parked easily and as I was leaving in the morning the voucher I was given lasted for the duration of my stay. At peak times (summer weekends) I should imagine parking could be tricky and work out expensive. However, I certainly wouldn't let it put me off returning - there are plenty of carparks nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for your mainly positive review however your purely speculative comments re the parking situation are just that - speculative and incorrect.
Although we are in the city centre we have several private parking spaces for exclusive use of our guests - which do not always get used as the street parking ( in cul-de-sac ) is not usually busy and is very convenient - guests can usually park right outside the front door.
Additionally we supply parking permits to all cars which enable guests to park in convenient restricted zones which are not available to local traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfyllin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

High quality guest house in a very central location. Easy access to the town centre, and a short walk from the railway station. Brilliant full English breakfast in the morning. I had a very peaceful and comfortable night sleep. Would definitely recommend, and use again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us - we notice that you dropped us a point in the cleanliness section, would it be too much to ask if you could email us to let us know specifically what was the defect so that we can correct - we would very much appreciate it.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

So I have stayed at the Castle View twice before and this was my third time staying at this venue. When I came I got one of the renovated rooms. The rooms were lovely and cosy before but now they are so plush! I loved the bed, the pillows, the amazing bathroom, and the quiet tranquil nights sleep. The breakfast was the perfect cure for the post wedding hangover and the bed was so snuggly. I ate then went back to recover some more. The location is perfect. It really is in the centre of everything but the sound doesn't penetrate the room. Once I was inside I was in a wee cocoon. The owners were so lovely there was no pressure to leave as soon as possible. I honestly would recommend this place to anyone that has to stay in Durham. When my next friend gets married I already know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetdee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for a great review - it was lovely to see you both. Look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here last weekend as was attending a wedding at durham castle. Due to traveling up on morning of wedding the owner was only too happy to let us check in before the wedding and was very welcoming and friendly showing us how to get around Durham and the easiest way to the castle.
The room was very comfortable and spacious and cannot grumble about the cooked breakfast we would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind response.
We are always happy to allow our guests to check in early, and try to ensure that their rooms are serviced first (after previouse guest vacates of course)
If guests intend to arrive outside normal check in times we require advance notice to ensure that a member of staff is on hand to greet them and give them their house keys.They are then free to drop off bags,use the room, if ready, and come and go at all times.
In good weather we also encourage guests and their friends to make use of our small garden during the day and evening before and after weddings, christenings, graduations etc. (we have heard many a champagne cork popping there over the years)
Thanks once again,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guest House

Property: Castle View Guest House
Address: 4 Crossgate | DH1 4PS, Durham Durham Cit, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 century English Heritage Listed Building with origins going back to the 14th century - restored and decorated to the highest standards.6 en-suite rooms - 2 with views of castle and cathedral the others looking over the historic street of Crossgate - one of the medieval routes where the ancient road from England to Scotland forded the River Wear and on which the city was originally founded - this unprepossessing street predates the castle and cathedral.The house is the closest residential property of all to the town centre and is only a few minutes walk from the castle and cathedral , the historic centre , shopping streets and restaurants. This can mean that the street is sometimes lively and noisy at night usually at weekends due to the fact that we are a prestigious university city with many boisterous young people out and about. We do however have double glazing and the highest quality beds to help you have a goodnight sleep before a full English breakfast cooked fresh to order with cereals , juices , and freshly cut fruit salad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle View Guest House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing