We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
South Shields, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This lovely hotel, which is not far from a glorious farm shop, but in a quiet secluded part of Durham is not perhaps your forelock tugging, totally modernised, spa having or over the top shiny type of hotel.

It is however, one with fantastic character. Beautiful rooms and a great atmosphere. Call me sad, but I booked in by myself, in a single room, to get a break, some peace and quiet.

My lovely single room was half price at £39 B&B. It was comfortable and wonderful, but I fancied a bath, so I asked the nice receptionist if she would swop, she couldn't do enough and even though there wasn't a room with a bath free, I felt she really went all out for me. My room (3)had tv, a lovely bathroom with shower, some soap and toiletries, tea/coffee making things - a bed with a lovely solid mattress (I HATE soft beds) and a window seat. I was gleeful.

After a little wander into the nearby village and an explore of the gorgeous garden, I went to the bar for dinner. I have never had food like that in my life! 4 massive king prawns with garlic and butter on bruschetta with rocket and dressing. I am drooling just thinking about it. Then I had a glorious rib eye steak with onion rings, mushrooms, tomatoes, salad and chips. The steak was melt in the mouth and so juicy. I asked for medium, just pink in the middle, no blood and that was exactly what I got - perfect!! The next morning, my breakfast was fantastic, tea and orange juice, scrambled egg, sausage, beans, hash browns, tomato, mushrooms, toast, I could have had bacon, bagels, a roll, yogurt, cereal. You name it, it was there.

The staff were lovely and if I didn't want to speak to anyone, you can see they picked up on it and let me be. I will return again with my husband for an overnight stay or two. I will rave about this hotel to anyone who will listen.

If you only go for a meal, you will be doing yourself a massive favour!

Room Tip: Ask the staff when you ring, if you want a bath as opposed to a shower and don't be frightened t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seafret1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    92
    60
    46
    48
See reviews for
63
122
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for one night b and b while visiting our daughter at Durham University. The hotel is in a pleasant rural spot 4 miles from the city centre. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the public rooms very well appointed. Our bedroom was a little dated and the furniture a bit shabby but it was comfortable and the ensuite was fine.The breakfast was superb and overall we felt it was very good value. It was also very quiet at night but the hotel does do weddings and occasional disco nights so its worth checking when you book if this would disturb you.

Room Tip: Check if there is a function on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187061Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked into the hotel with my wife for a three course meal, bed & breakfast for £55 each. The meal was very good & service was excellent, the room was a little dated but very clean & the breakfast couldn't be faulted. I found this to be excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just came today from a 1 night stay at hallgarth manor me and my partner book the valentines special of dinner bed and breakfast for £110 which I think is a very good deal we received a very warm welcome from the reception staff all very friendly, very happy with the room bed was realy comfy but the furniture needs an update every think had a squeak to it wardrobe and draws but overall decent enough the meal we had was realy nice the resultant had beautifully layed out tables and the staff where realy helpfull topping up the wine when empty and there when you needed them very prompt with the food the only thing I didn't like was they don't take money from you all the drinks where charged to your room and u had to pay the next day I didn't wanna spend 2 much on wine coz I panicked case u ran out if money even tho I took enough with us felt sorry for some of the staff finished 11pm back again the next day for 7am poor things but all in all good stay would defo go bk

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughton
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Revisited and the reception remembered us from last visit. They upgraded our room for free. We had a superb meal, even though in a large group.

Staff are some of the friendliest we have experienced, very efficient too.

Already booked again for April, would absolutely recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaughtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We attended a family wedding here in November 2012, and booked a room as a treat. This proved to be a great idea, as we relaxed in the beautiful surroundings without the worry of getting home later. The whole package was stunning, the rooms were warm and clean, the staff, and Christine in particular made us feel very special and the food was enjoyed by even the youngest and fussiest guests.We will definitely return for a meal in the carvery and will recommend the venue to friends who are planning weddings in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens at the rear are tranquil and very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I attended a wedding here and had a wonderful day, the following day we walked around Durham City Centre which i must say is amazing. This hotel is perfect for any wedding venue and i will be returning with my partner. The Hotel itself is beautiful, my room overlooked the gardens at the back of the hotel which are very well maintained. I had the most fantistic day with everyone on our table commenting on how good the food was and how lovely the staff were whom were all extremely friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LennoxManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
3.1 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant

Property: Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Address: Pittington, Durham DH6 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallgarth Manor is a traditional English country house hotel situated just 3 miles from the historic city of Durham in the northeast of England. This former 16th-century estate, set in spectacular grounds and gardens, has been discreetly modernised to retain many of its original features. Noted for the excellence of its food, the comfort of its accommodation and the quality of its many facilities, Hallgarth Manor is a real favourite for customers looking for conferences, business meetings, wedding celebrations and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hallgarth Manor Country Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing