We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit extra”
other travelers have booked this property
St Cuthberts Cottage by the stream.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Cuthberts Cottage by the stream.
The old stone wall Cosy wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
St Cuthberts Cottage by the stream.
The old stone wall
Cosy wood burner
Stable door leading to patio and stream
St Cuthbert's cottage
A favourite spot.
Anyone for tea by the stream?
Another comfy seat.
A king sized bed with quality Egyptian cotton sheets
There are lots of lamps to set a cosy mood
Space to sit with friends
A lovely place to sit and read and watch the birds outside.
All the seating is good quality leather
Wifi, tv with freesat and DVD player with selection of films and iPod enabled cd radio player
Living room
View from the rear bedroom
The view from the front bedroom
This is the view from the front bedroom
Tripadvisor certificate of excellence winner in 2012 and 2013
A complimentary welcome pack is provided for stays of three days or more
Children's play area nearby
Tranquil setting.
Welcome pack
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
T M
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little bit extra”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Numerous little extras from the home made bread in the welcome pack to the free wifi meant that this was a holiday to remember for all the right reasons.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us once more.

I am so pleased you enjoyed our little cottage.

Best of luck sorting through all of your Seaglass finds
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen B
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Smiles all round when we arrived at the cottage. So welcoming and clean. We loved sitting out the back listening to the stream. Even saw an otter which made my day.
All the little extras made such a difference. Not only a lovely welcome pack including homemade bread, chocolate and wine but liquid soap, shower gel, dishwasher tablets etc, couldn't have asked for more.
My 4 year old left his favourite toy and after a quick text to Mick, no problem he'll post home thanks Mick.
All in all, a wonderful stay in a comfy, cosy cottage. Will definitely return.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2017
Thank you so much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to what we needed to do
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2017
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your atay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma2867
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect home-from-home cottage”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a fabulous find - we had a brilliant time staying at St Cuthbert's cottage. The location was perfect, the kids were so excited when they saw how close the playground was, and we all enjoyed the beach (I could have spent days just hunting for the famous Seaham sea glass)!

The welcome pack from Mick & Jules was wonderful, the homebread bread was a hit with everyone (I had hoped the kids wouldn't like it so I could have more, but no such luck)!

We will definitely, definitely be back!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2017
It’s like a private playground, as it seems the only people who use it are those who stay at the cottage. Thank you for staying
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3llissa
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wonderful cottage in a great location with an exceptional service. Can not praise enough. It was like home from home - missed it when we left! Will definitely be back as perfect location for when visiting family in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2017
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShipton
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed February 12, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We loved our stay at St Cuthbert's Cottage. Mick was such a fantastic host - he provided the best welcome treats we have ever had! The cottage is in a beautiful location and it is close to everything we wanted: Seaham and Durham.

You can tell that this property is loved by its owners. It had everything you needed plus extras - wood burning fireplaces, dishwasher, etc.
THanks for a great stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay at our little cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbranstro...
Lawrence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Peaceful Place”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent three wonderful nights in the cottage after a busy 7 days of seeing sights in London and York. It was a wonderful place to have a quiet break from the crowds! The accommodations are very comfortable and Mick was a wonderful host, collecting us from the train station and providing us with a generous hamper of treats including wine, sweets and home baked bread that was amazing! He showed us around Seham and provided lots of helpful tips on where to go to hunt for sea glass which was why we made a stop in Seaham on our UK trip. The little kitchen is well appointed for cooking some meals in if you wish and the beds are very comfy. The little creek that runs out back is beautiful and we enjoyed sitting on the little patio. We left today for Edinburgh and already miss the peaceful beauty of the little cottage. I highly recommend this place if you're looking for a peaceful getaway for a few days. I am looking forward to returning again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2017
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing