We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farnley Tower
Nearby Hotels
$118
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$575
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$141
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
$56
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
$66
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
91
153
88
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
153
88
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingold victoriannursing homecity centrepleasant roomfirst morningbit datedlarge roomlast minute bookingcooked breakfastpoached eggsfull englishthe ground floorcomfortable bedsdurham cathedralno liftreception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 401 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014

i would like to recommend this hotel as highly as it gets the reception was so accommodating i arrived at 2030, everything is based on good old fashioned service .nothing was to much trouble the customer comes first which is soin this day & age .well done farnley i will definitely be returning .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Stuart,
Thank you for a great review. Our customer service skills are somthing that we take great pride in. We try to make sure every guest makes a top quality personal service.
Also we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed at the Farnley overnight, what a lovely place, quite unexpected too. If your looking for old world charm, exceptional customer service and a delightful stay in Durham look no further, You have arrived! Thank You Farnley Tower for being "splendid" PS. A friendly white and orange cat walks around from hallway to hallway up and down the stairs "adorable" and quite english in that he is so well mannered!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thanks Nancy for a great review, Our staff take great pride in there excellent customer service skills. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Durham and the hotel cat Oliver is somone a popular figure amongst our guests!
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was a short business visit with some free time. We needed somewhere central but quiet and were really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. As Durham rates go it was excellent value and a very good breakfast was served,thankfully without the intrusive 'Muzak ' in the background. The hotel was clean. Our room was spacious and exactly what we had requested. Throughout our stay the staff were helpful, friendly and courteous - even the cat welcomed us! The bed was comfortable and the hotel quiet. However it is (as so much in Durham),on a steep hill so walking into town could be a problem for one of limited mobility. I would recommend this Hotel for value and warmth of welcome. We will certainly return - if only to renew our friendship with the affectionate cat!

Room Tip: If you have any particular needs just ask the staff and they are sure to try to accommodate
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank traveltog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnleytower, Managment at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Unfortunatly the hill can not be help but it makes for good exercise!
we shall look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were v happy with the room here, and the interesting building, and didn't mind too much the walk there as it's good exercise and we know Durham's accommodation options are sparse. There's also a cute cat who wanders about and is quite approachable.

My only niggles were no biscuits in the room, no background music in the restaurant - breakfast just the sound of cutlery on plates, and the Daily Mail greeting us in reception in the morning - would like to see/read a less hateful rag to start the day!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirShaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnleytower, Managment at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks for your review Sir. We like the idea of music in the brestfast room and are considering that. Also we agree that your paper should of been in better condition which we have spoked to our news agents about.
Thanks once again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We just stayed for one night - and despite the hotel not having received our booking through booking.com the staff were very quick and extremely friendly rectifying this and putting an extra bed up for our 3rd child in the family room. The room was of a very good size accommodating the 5 of us, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great and plentiful! Great building, too! All in all - lovely stay! Definitely would book again if we were in Durham again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnleytower, Managment at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks Anna for your fantastic review. As a business we pride ourshelves on efficiency.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Shall look forward to your return :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews