We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's all right”
Review of Farnley Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Farnley Tower
Ranked #16 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Price quality ration about right for Durham; the hotel is rather aged, but the room was very clean and spatious with a very big bathroom (it was a twin room overlooking the drive). The walls are quite thin so earplugs may be a good idea. The breakfast is rather basic, and I was disappointed by the instant coffee. OK for a business stay, but I'd avoid it if you're booking for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotSoMardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Farnley Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 374 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed one night - its a strange old building. It is about 15 minutes to the town, uphilll on the way back. Room 15 ground floor was large very nice. Bath room clean and shower excellent. No shampoo or conditioner but there was a hair dryer. Downside was you needed ear plugs from the room above. We had some particularly noisy occupants in room 10/11 which spoilt the stay a we were hoping for a good nights rest ready for our journey next day. Management did apologise

Breakfast fine - (although sausages just the frozen kind) but the stay wasn't dear.

Room Tip: take ear plugs
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorrothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the christmas market festival.room was quite large but did book a superior room.very clean ans a great view over the city.Plenty of hot water and room very warm.Ate in the restaurant on one night and had a great meal although be prepared to pay more than an average price due to quality of food.The only downside to this visit was that the restaurant on the second night was booked out to a private party and wasn, t available to hotel guests so had to try and book in town.The bar is a small room attached to the restaurant and not some where you can go and have a drink only so went into town.Breakfast really good.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 11 but is a superior room
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbob001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our stay was OK but nothing special. A bit overpriced. Generally clean but a little run down. Bathroom and bedroom (room 6) had mould. Towels not changed after first night. Breakfast was good and dining staff friendly. Restaurant has an unfortunate name which my partner found offensive. Quiet area so slept well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimP69007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We only stayed the one night to break our journey home from Scotland. Our room (15) was ample for a night's stay and the bathroom, though compact, was fine. Nul point to Booking.com for giving us the wrong dates for the hotel restaurant closure but we enjoyed our walk downhill to eat in Durham. The uphill walk back was sufficient to burn off some XS calories. Another walk into Durham the next morning after a good breakfast topped off our splendid stay. Next time we will make sure that the restaurant is really open as the menu and reputation look good.

Room Tip: Though room 15 is on the ground floor off reception there is a double door so it is quiet and has ni...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndytheIndolent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

In traveling throughout Great Britain and staying primarily in B & Bs recommended by Rick Steves, we found lodging accommodations limited in this relatively large city, and decided to stay at the Farnley Tower the one night we stayed in Durham. It is an old manor, built in 1870 and converted into a 15-room B & B hotel in 1998. The hotel has large, attractive rooms, nicely decorated, with reasonably comfortable beds. The tub-shower is a real challenge to keep from flooding the bathroom floor. Breakfast is traditional English breakfast in a pleasant dining room. Wi-fi access is disappointingly sporadic and inconsistent, however. On-site complimentary parking is available. The location of the hotel is at the top of a hill, with a downhill 10 minute walk to downtown Durham, but a challenging uphill walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed recently at the Farnley Tower for 3 nights and good place to stay when
visiting Durham. Was a bit dubious when we arrived to check in and was shown to our room with our towels but room was really nice and spacious and clean so towels just missed out when cleaned earlier.

Hotel situated at top of quite steep hill but only takes 10 minutes to walk into durham and if you dont feel like the hike back there are plenty of taxis in the town.

Hotel was quite busy when we stayed but did not have to wait long at breakfast to be served. There was not a great choice of fruit juices to choose from but few different cereals. Cooked English breakfast was nice but also had other items as did not want to have each morning.

The hotel has nice gardens and bar with patio area if you visit in the summer months .

Found all the staff very pleasant and would stay again if down in durham.

Room Tip: Probably better having room upstairs as floor boards could be quite creaky!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottiesglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
522 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnley Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnley Tower

Address: The Avenue, Durham DH1 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: $117 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnley Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnley Tower Is a 4 star quality guesthouse. The current owners have sympathetically restored this prominent Victorian building, providing the facilities you would expect of a modern city centre hotel.With its elevated position you can enjoy stunning views over Durham Cathedral and Castle, as well as the surrounding Durham countryside. Savour the culinary cuisine from the award winning restaurant The Gourmet Spot adjoining the guesthouse.Free car parking on site, less than a 10 minute walk to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farnley Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnley Tower Hotel Durham
Farnley Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing