We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, One-of-a-Kind B&B”
Review of Farnley Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farnley Tower
Ranked #20 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2013

On arrival at the B&B we were taken aback that the gentlemen running the B&B were in t-shirts and jeans, however, when they provided us with tea's and coffee's as we had arrived too early to check in that was quickly forgotten. We got into the room and our cases had been taken into the room, which was very attentive. The breakfast the next morning was also delicous, however both our orders were incorrect, though quickly rectified. The staff were extrememly attentive, the bed was beautifully comfortable and the television in the room was far superior to normal B&B's. If you want a bath and are over the height of 4" I would forget it though: terrible, squashed corner shape design. Everything else was most satisfying. Beautiful view from the room.

Room Tip: Room 12 was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kblenks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 390 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This was a single night overnight stay and we stayed in Room 12 which was great! The room was spacious with a great view of Durham Cathedral. On breakfast morning we thought the food was really good but...the staff simply could not cope efficiently with the diners. Almost all the rooms seemed to converge on the lovely breakfast room at the same time! In our opinion the two male staff did really well but it really should not be an issue. And it was for quite a few of the diners and rightfully so I'm afraid. BUT the staff did their very best and that is commendable so very well done folks! We would recommend this hotel to all and we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for night just recently, having previously stayed in major chain hotels in Durham. The stay was at best average and the hotel would manage 3 stars at a push. At the end of the stay nobody seemed interested in whether we had enjoyed our stay but they were keen to pass on a 2 1/2 percent charge for paying by credit card. This is the first time I have ever been asked to pay such a fee in any hotel. When queried I was told they are charged 4 percent by the card company. Sounds like a hotel in financial strife to me and I will stay with the major chains in future at about the same price

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fbg162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnleytower, General Manager at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I would firstly like to respond and confirm we are NOT a 4 star Hotel we are a 3 star guest house we would like to Thankyou for staying at Farnley Tower and if you realised we are not a 4 star chain hotel but an independent guest house maybe you would have not left this review.
Credit card companys do charge us 4% for the use of a credit card so we pass this on to the customer as you could pay by debit card or cash where there is no surcharge added. We are not in financial trouble as you suggest but thanks for your concern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of August and was very happy with the level of service provided. Good quality bedding, soft fluffy towels, plenty of piping hot water, nice decor, good cooked breakfasts. I can't comment about the restaurant, although my advice would be to change the name, yes it is mildly amusing, but gives an initial 'wrong impression' . As mentioned before this is not a 4 star hotel but is very definately 4 star guest accomodation, with a very friendly helpful team of people. Would definately stay here again when in Durham.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful & picturesque old manor house full of character & charm, lovely stained glass window above main staircase, lovely grounds, great atmosphere. We stayed 3 nights, had a generous size room with big bay windows, beautiful views, nice decor, comfortable beds, tea & coffee making facilities, good size tv & free wifi. Very quiet. Great bathroom, plenty of hot water & fresh towels & nice little bottles of shower gel provided. Large dining room downstairs, great food & excellent service, staff are fast & very friendly. Good parking area, plenty of room. Great location just a short walk about 10mins to the town centre. My advice is to leave your car at the hotel & just walk to the Cathedral & other sights - with the cost of parking in the town & the narrow, pedestrian-filled streets this is by far the easier option. I would definitely recommend Farnley Tower, everything was good quality, it made our stay in Durham very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August and were very happy there. The rooms are clean and comfortable and quiet. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to keep our room for some extra time on the day of departure so that we could get ready for a wedding. We had a super meal in the little restaurant and could not have been looked after better. It was great to be able to leave the car and walk to and from the City. On way to get fit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 days while visiting the Durham area. Clean, good sized rooms and bathrooms. 15 minute walk to Palace Green in central Durham. Chef helped me out with breakfast even though I arrived in the dining room a little late. Free wifi is a little spotty, but worked OK when it was switched on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
6.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
6.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
542 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
9.0 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnley Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnley Tower

Address: The Avenue, Durham DH1 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: $118 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnley Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnley Tower Is a 4 star quality guesthouse. The current owners have sympathetically restored this prominent Victorian building, providing the facilities you would expect of a modern city centre Guesthouse .With its elevated position you can enjoy stunning views over Durham Cathedral and Castle, as well as the surrounding Durham countryside. Savour the culinary cuisine from the award winning restaurant DH1 adjoining the guesthouse .Free car parking on site, less than a 10 minute walk to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farnley Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnley Tower Hotel Durham
Farnley Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing