We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room and convenient location”
Review of Farnley Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Farnley Tower
Ranked #16 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed three nights at Farnley Towers and enjoyed our time there. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very comfortable with relaxing views across the lawns to the castle and old town. It's a 20 minute walk to the town centre with plenty to look at along the way. Alternatively it's a 5 minute drive and there's easy parking in the shopping centre car park. The breakfast room is light and airy - very pleasant and the cooked breakfasts were excellent. We enjoyed a 5 star dining experience in the Gourmet Spot restaurant though we felt to eat there every night might be a bit overwhelming. There are plenty of places to eat in the town centre. The key question - would we go back? Yes, without hesitation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the castle and cathedral
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Farnley Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 374 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

A strange reception area, just a desk plonked in the lobby. Room 10 had good views and was a good size but the floors creaked that much it must have disturbed anyone underneath. The mattress was far too soft, it was like being on a trampoline. The towels were folded on the bed but I always have to check. The bath towel had a hole in and the hand towel was full of what looked like make-up and I don't use it. I think it had just been refolded and not laundered at all. The bathroom was ok apart from the creaky floor. The breakfast room was lovely and the food was really good. The only fault was that my cooked breakfast was brought before I'd finished eating my cereal. We ate out in the evening but the hotel is up a quite steep hill and we had to get a taxi back as my husband has a bad knee. Don't think I would have paid to stay here but the hotel was quite busy. Our stay was a gift.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConcordeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnleytower, Owner at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

We are a 4 star guesthouse, if you want a 4 star hotel, pay 4 star hotel prices and don't complain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A great hotel where you are truly well looked after, great light rooms with amazing views. Lots of tea, coffee sugar and milk in the room. Wi Fi and lots of local info in room.

The breakfast room was beautiful, akin Laura Ashley will add photo.

The bar was "cosy" haha but there is plenty of room in the outside seating, great views over Durham.

Gourmet Spot Michelin recommended restaurant is through the bar, great place for a romantic meal, lovely wines and champagnes.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room (double aspect) facing towards the main lawn/Durham town for the best views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at Farnley Tower one night, just for a nights break away.

We got room 1 at the front, right near the entrance, clean and tidy room; bit tired in places but was not expecting five stars. Could maybe do with a couple or little job fixes, and a lick of paint here and there, but overall, we have stayed in a far worse places and paid a lot more!
We didn't sample the food as restaurant closed Sundays, but had already pre booked a place in town, as that was what we had planned to do, food looked a tad fancy for me lol, bit of a Steak n chips guy.

The room itself was clean and tidy, ample tea and coffee etc, and everything worked as it should, floors creak a bit, but this is an old property with a lot of character and that is to be expected really. We arrived back after midnight and the reason we got the front room near entrance is because we smoke and didn’t want to disturb others popping in and out all the time. Heard a couple of people arriving back after us with the squeaking floors but again, expected that, and wasn’t really an issue.

Room itself was lovely and warm, maybe a bit too warm but opening a window solves that, better than being freezing cold.

Breakfast was a lovely full English fry up and it was, poached eggs to perfection, with lovely bacon and sausages, unfortunately a bit too much for the wife to manage so cannot complain about portion sizes.

Overall a lovely place to stay, and definitely one that I will be keeping in the favourites list for another stop over, bit of a steep walk from town, especially if you have had a few pints but taxi only cost a fiver and well worth it, not to be stuck in the town itself, well worth a visit in my eyes!

Room Tip: We stayed in room one as we smoke, no issues at all being near the entrance
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CallumMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed one night here in early April. Comfortable room, clean bedding!! (see another review) although a mattress protector would have been nice. Bathroom, towels etc. OK. Breakfast fine. About 15 minutes walk into the town, not a problem. We ate in the Olde Elm Tree pub which was good and unpretentious. Durham is LOVELY and would return to Farnley Tower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, but in Room 11 you may have a large tree blocking some of your view!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here last night just for 1 night 3 couples to celebrate a birthday , all 3 rooms were really comfortable clean and spacious , plenty tea and coffee. we were given a warm welcome by one of the owners , we went to ours rooms unpacked and had a quick drink in the bar the bar is small but very nice if the weather was warmer there is tables outside in a lovely garden with fab views . we didn't have the evening meal as we were meeting other friends in Durham however I will have the evening meal next time we visit. breakfast help yourself to fruit juice and cereal a good choice and full English followed it was really lovely everything cooked to perfection . Staff all polite and very helpful we will go back and soon lovely hotel and owner . well done Farnley tower

Room Tip: 10 minutes away from Durham city we got taxi in Durham on the night only cost £5 and we only did th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larkmans22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our one night stay at Farnley was comfortable with clean rooms and great service. The breakfast was also great, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. A bit of a long walk into town for the smaller kids but close enough that it wasn't too much of a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirstenLM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
522 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnley Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnley Tower

Address: The Avenue, Durham DH1 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: $116 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnley Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnley Tower Is a 4 star quality guesthouse. The current owners have sympathetically restored this prominent Victorian building, providing the facilities you would expect of a modern city centre hotel.With its elevated position you can enjoy stunning views over Durham Cathedral and Castle, as well as the surrounding Durham countryside. Savour the culinary cuisine from the award winning restaurant The Gourmet Spot adjoining the guesthouse.Free car parking on site, less than a 10 minute walk to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farnley Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnley Tower Hotel Durham
Farnley Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing