We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
131
53
13
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
53
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraditional pubreal alecity centrefriendly localsfour poster bedcamra pubconvivial atmospherefine alesen suite bedroomscosy barlike stepping back in timeoff street parkingpub with roomsa great place to stayprivate parkingfew minutes walkfull english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 205 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

In an excellent position for visiting the Cathedral and Castle, this is a traditional Victorian inn. Warm welcome. Friendly staff and locals. Superb ales. Open fires. Comfortable bedroom. Decent cooked breakfast. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

stayed here whilst visiting Lumiere.
Very friendly, great range of beers and malt whisky and a good hearty breakfast.
Nice and close to town (5 min walk) and about 15 min walk from train station
I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lovely stay in this traditional & welcoming pub
Nothing to much trouble from Michael the landlord & his brilliant staff
Very much enjoyed our stay, the pub is amazing and concentrates on what a traditional pub should be. Great beer & even better hospitality
Newer pubs spend thousands to try to be like this...& fail
Comfortable clean rooms and great breakfasts
Would recommend and stay again
A great pub in a very nice city

Room Tip: All rooms unique & each one different
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asiasusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lovely features- vintage feal and very traditional.

Price is reasonable

Open log fires which add a nice touch to the atmosphere however doors had to be open which meant that it was quite chilly.

Shame, about the customer service, or lack of as I have experienced. Basically told to move from our seats as we had not purchased another drink within five minutes of finishing our first and made to feel unwelcome by the staff for not quickly buying another drink.

There are many pubs in Durham which are more relaxed so won't be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ash W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great bar, friendly with welcoming locals. Pleasant change to be in an old fashioned drinking pub with no electronics at all - just conversation. Good selection of beers and whisky. if you want food you need to go elswhere and they recomended the tapas bar across the road - and so would I - excellent. Breakfast was excellent as well.

The bit in between was less good as the accommodation is rather tired and old style (ok in the bar, but not really in the rooms). No noise from the pub, but is must have been freshers week at the uni and there was a 'riot' outside for much of the night. I'm fairly relaxed about that - but watch out if that sort of thing upsets you. There were some signs up apologising for any inconvenience during refurbishment, although it wasn't clear to me what was being refurbished.

As with most city centre accommodation, parking is a challenge so it was nice to be able to use the garage round the side.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews