We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
131
53
13
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
53
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional pub real ale city centre friendly locals four poster bed camra pub convivial atmosphere fine ales en suite bedrooms cosy bar like stepping back in time off street parking pub with rooms a great place to stay private parking few minutes walk full english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 205 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Interesting place to stay. Uninviting city pub from the outside. Inside: unaltered Victorian bar downstairs, full of local characters (on both sides of the bar!). Lots of intriguing Victorian knick knacks and pictures. Some free parking. Easy walk to city centre (5 mins). We stayed on the top floor - above average standard room/bathroom. Good breakfasts. Good value. Would use again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Room was very clean and had been recently decorated to a high standard. Ensuite was also clean and fresh. Breakfast excellent, and location is perfect for access to city centre highlights. Free parking onsite was a bonus, although limited to 3 spaces. Will certainly return

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

If we had blinked we would have missed this and it would have been our loss. In a snow storm we were heading through Durham and saw this Hotel/B&B as we passed it. Tip. There is no parking in the street so be prepared to either park illegally or drive slowly looking for a parking spot.
The premises have been a Pub and have been renovated to accommodate B&B accommodation. This works very well and, apart from the three flights of stairs, everything works very well. The rooms are bright and comfortable and the room that I used had an ensuite, but although having a shower rose there was usable shower area other than sitting in the bath.
The room could have been heated more than it was and the heat appeared to be switched off somewhat early. There is no coffee making facilities in the rooms. Guests have to make their way to the breakfast room to make any hot drink there and then take it to their room. Breakfast was very adequate and in a pleasant, if spartan setting.
The ground floor is occupied by the original bar area and this has not been refurbished or renovated which makes it a very homely and “original” experience. One unique aspect is that the barmaid (person?) actually “pulls” beer from the barrel. Not a thing that happens in a lot of English Pubs.
An evening meal is easily obtained. We asked the barmaid and although the Victoria does not “do” evening meals there are plenty of options a very small stone’s throw away.
A few problems but not enough to say “don’t stay here”.

Room Tip: Try not to get the top floor rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have nothing but praise for this quaint,TIME HAS STOPPED STILL,English pub.Great friendly staff and Manager,locals are also welcoming and funny.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOM J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel was exquisite - comfort, Victorian stylings true to the hotel's name, modern amenities and a delicious full English breakfast. My girlfriend and I stayed February. After a rough ordeal with trains we were overwhelmingly relieved walking into such a gorgeous room. Our room was wonderfully warm and cosy, featuring a lovely four-post bed (don't see those often), flatscreen tv and a modern bathroom.

The bar below the hotel is also a must. Vintage stylings, fireplace seating, designed wholly as a bar to enjoy drinks, company and conversation. No music is played, heightening this appeal to ordinary conversation, never having to shout to your neighbors sitting only 2 feet away. And try a toastie if you're hungry!

The hotel itself is located 2 mins walk from the cathedral and church as well as the main city. And perhaps a 3 min taxi from the train station. Staff were very helpful and polite.

Thanks guys for a great stay - from the Aussie and Chicagoan.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews