We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OK but hard to find”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We used the postcode provided by Premier Inn for the Sat Nav. It took us to a retail park but we could not find the hotel. It took 30 minutes of driving around to find it. It was close but separated from the retail park by a fence and trees and not visible from there.
When we did find it, checking in to the hotel was straightforward as it usually is in Premier Inns.
The room was the standard type and quite comfortable.
Check-out was also straightforward.
Would I stay there again? Yes, now that I know where it is and if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Note that despite the address, the hotel is NOT on the Arnison Retail Centre. Check it out on Google...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasgunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    222
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
266
297
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Premier Inn have upped their game and are in my opinion better than chains like Mercure. Clean, comfortable and a friendly face on reception, what more do you need? The attached restaurant offers a wide range of dishes for dinner and breakfast is anything you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel was hard to find even with using a sat nav however once we found the hotel, it was a nice budget hotel. Nothing flashy, everything was as expected and I would return again if I was in the area. Retail park which is close by, very helpful to have if you need bits of bobs. McDonals, Poundland, M&S, Sainsbury (including petrol) and other shops too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hut_Yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

perfectly nice place but as above what is the point of on-line check in?
Also you get a friendly knock on the door at 2 in the morning if you snore a bit loudly but the cleaners rattling up the corridor at 7am is obviously fine!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philnjac1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
398 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The premier Inns are all of a good standard and this one was no different inside, my room was spotless and spacious and did the trick no problem but what really struck me was the friendliness of the staff and how helpful they were and I always believe that that deserves recognition. I recevied a friendly welcome, I was able to get into my room early, and they were great with all my enquiries. Breakfast served across the road in the diner was spot on, plenty of it and again the staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Thankyou.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This premier inn was up to the usual good standard - clean, helpful staff, etc. The only issue was that it was a bit to far outside of Durham itself. To go anywhere you had to drive which was a bit disappointing. Also we had a problem with noise from the floor above which was dealt with in the usual professional way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14KallyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A good standard Premier Inn, friendly welcome, quiet, clean room (rooms are set well off the road, those at the back are even quieter), help getting a taxi when we needed one and only a short taxi ride to town.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing