We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of praise for the receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Full of praise for the receptionist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was the second time of staying at this hotel. I arrived and upon unpacking my bag realized that I did not have my medication tablets. On reporting this to the receptionist " Judith " she was able to give me details of what I should do for replacements and did the necessary telephone calls.
I must say that I think the Premier Inns have gone up a notch in terms of comfortable rooms, Friendly and helpful staff and eating facilities attached with a good selection of meals to eat at reasonable prices.
Everyone of the staff I spoke to had a smile on their face and appeared to be enjoying their work looking after the customer.

Room Tip: The quiet zone is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    208
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
256
284
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed at Pity Me Premier Inn when visiting friend in the area, this is our second stay here, we really like the location as it is quiet and there is a small retail part nearby. The rooms are as expected comfortable and clean with tea and coffee available, staff are friendly. We visited the pub next door one evening which was nice but quiet. We chose not to have breakfast at there as we felt the prices were too high and when we checked it did not look fresh and topped up well; so we went to Sainsburys cafe in the retail park which was cheaper and freshly cooked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great weekend away far exceeded my expectations as was first time using the premier inn chain i would not hesitate to use again the staff were all really friendly and the hotel clean the breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

You often hear about those £29.00 rooms which never seem to be available at Premiers but we dropped lucky it would seem bagging 2 rooms for £29.00 each. I stayed here with my parents for one night, the night before my MA graduation at Durham University. Firstly on arrival the staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to help. I forgot my graduation paperwork for my robes and the reception staff printed it out for me, thanks for that, it was nice to see that customer care still exists!! Also the night staff rang around several taxi companies for us to ensure we got a taxi to Palace Green at the time we wanted! It was all very professional and I felt very friendly.

Both rooms were very nice, very clean and spacious and there were plenty pillows in the room to use, needless to say I had an excellent nights sleep and it was a shame to get up at 6 am to get ready!! The hotel itself is set near a retail park which you can go and have a look around and seems very nice also there is ample free parking at the Premier itself which was nice to see. We ate in the restaurant opposite, the Dunlem Ridge, I was a bit sceptical at first because I have been to other Premier Inns in the area and their restaurants have been a let down. Food here was great though, piping hot, good portion size and very tasty.

In all an excellent stay at an excellent hotel! The ease of the hotel made a very special day great. I would stay here again in a heartbeat should I ever return to Durham!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night with my son before a watching match at St James' Park, Newcastle the next day.
I found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, room spacious and clean and not much noise around for a Saturday night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We’ve just returned from a pleasant two nights stay. The hotel was up to Premier Inn’s usual high standards. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed (and two pillows each). The hotel had ample free parking and the reception staff were friendly.
There’s a restaurant on the door-step, where we had a nice meal on the Saturday night.
I would have no problems in using this hotel again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LellynIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed here for the first time for 3 nights over Christmas.
Staff excellent,they were fantastic,so friendly with lots of knowledge
Rooms,very very clean,warm
Resturant,had Xmas dinner there and breakfast and the staff and food was great.
Why pay loads of money for a hotel not as good as this one

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing