We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend - Clean decent Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Family Weekend - Clean decent Premier Inn”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First time we have stayed at a Premier Inn, was pleasantly surprised how clean and modern the rooms were, and the plentiful supply of hot water was a bonus. Beds were comfortable. Staff were really helpful and friendly, and the access from the A167 good, also a good sized car park, which we still managed to get parked on on the saturday evening even though everywhere seemed very busy. Very helpful to have the directions from the adjacent retail park on the confirmation e-mail, as our sat nav like everyone elses sent us there. Sorry, but unable to recommend the food in the attched Brewers Fayre, we found it poor quality, and that (in an evening) most things came with chips, although the staff were friendly and helpful. We were a bit disappointed with the all you can eat breakfast, you have to order your hot food and it is brought to your table, so if you're hoping to choose that nice piece of crispy bacon, or well done sausage etc forget it. Cereals, bread for toasting etc were buffet style. Were impressed how quiet the hotel was at night. We had thought on the Saturday night it would be noisy as we were there for an event taking place nearby over the weekend with an evening function on the Saturday, and there were quite a few people staying at this hotel who were attending the function and we were anticipating noise from people returning in the early hours, which didn't happen. The receptionist said in the morning when we commented to her on this, that she had reminded people as they returned to remember people were asleep and to respect their right for a decent nights sleep. In summary I would say this is a decent Premier Inn with friendly and helpful staff, but the Brewers Fayre lets it down. Can't comment on the accessaability into Durham as we were there to attend a nearby event, and we chose this Premier Inn for it's proximity to that, we were not staying there to visit Durham itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbrianfamily1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    223
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
267
297
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's a Premier Inn, which means that as a hotel it reaches a standard. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the beds likewise and it's properly maintained. Breakfast in the Brewer's Fayre next door is not as good as in many Premier Inns, but acceptable; dinner there in the evening is awful. The cheapest, nastiest pub food you can imagine. When staying there on my own, I had a good lunch elsewhere and went to Sainsburys round the corner to buy the makings of a ham sandwich to eat in my room in the evening. This time there were two of us and we didn't do that; I wish we had. Stay in the hotel by all means, but eat dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very near the city centre.Park & ride one mile away , so you dont need to drive to Durham.A very good restraunt/pub 10 yards away for breakfast & dinner.Very clean ,staff very helpful. All in all value for money. We got a good deal of £54 for two nights.The hotel even sent me an email with directions as the sat nav takes you to an industial estate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangerinechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here during the snow storms and everything was great - staff very helpful and room clean and warm as usual

Reception were particularly helpful with a phone call to ensure I was still OK to travel given the weather conditions prevalent at the time - in the morning they offered assistance in clearing snow from car and checking it was safe to leave.

Very helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our friend's recommended this hotel to us and we weren't disappointed. I had text messages with map/directions & a courtesy call from the hotel before we had left home. Then on check in Kelly was very helpful, little extras such as colouring sheets & pens for the children and offering to book us a table in the restaurant, not forgetting the directions/discount tickets for Beamish. We stayed as a family of 5 so had two ground floor rooms, both very clean & adequate for our stay. If we thought the hotel was good, the next morning's breakfast was fantastic! Very friendly staff (especially Isabella!), and a good choice of food. The cooked breakfast was delicious. We also ate there on 2 nights, good value 'pub grub'. The younger children enjoyed the play area, which at £2 each for unlimited play was affordable. We visited Beamish museum, Durham city & cathedral and the nearby shopping centre. All well worth a trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at this premier inn for the first time with our 5 year old son in a family room just for a treat for him and had a lovely experience.
the room was immaculate and smelt lovely, everything seemed very new
Plenty of parking in the carpark.
the staff were very friendly and helpful, we arrived early and were able to check straight in.
We had dinner at the adjoining pub which was fine, not the best food we have ever had but okay for the price. there is a large play area for the kids so the little one was occupied while we watched him.
We opted for the premier breakfast which was really nice and set us up for the day.
I would definately recommend this hotel for a trip into Durham, there is a park and ride just down the road where you can park for £2.00, we just drove into Durham, 4 hrs parking for £2.60, not bad.
A lovely short break away, we will definately stay in a premier inn again if they are all like this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byers Green, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a very friendly young lady. We were offered a booking for a table, next door.
When we found our room it was lovely, well kept, clean, warm and the bed was so comfy.
After getting sorted, we took the very short walk to the retaul park along the road before returning to get ready for tea.
We went next door for our tea and the food was beautiful. Not to mention free refills.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing