We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Should have been better”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here following another stay the night before in the Premier Inn Bellshill. How can to hotels be so different. I arrived and received a decent welcome and was given my room details (no offer to book me a table).
Got to the room which was directly on a corridor door on the second floor, this opened and closed every time someone walked through it and banged as it closed, for some reason there was also lose floorboard.
The room was freezing when i arrived, it was -8 outside and not much warmer inside my room so the heating went on straight away. The single bar heater took ages to heat the room, however there was still no heating in the bathroom which remained cold.
There was also a thermostat control on the hot tap on the bath which meant i could only get warm water.

The nights sleep was ok but awoke freezing in the morning as for some reason the room stat had turned itself off in the middle of the night.
it is a shame it was not as good as the Premier Inn i had stayed in the night before.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    216
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
263
291
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Surprised at the efficiency and personal touches not normally shown by national budget hotel chains.
Very reasonable charge for an overnight stay. Friendly Geordie service even rang my mobile whilst I was travelling to enquire my time of arrival and give me directions. Arranged a room to be available before normal booking on time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this Premier Inn on Thursday 10th January for a family celebration, and so booked 2 rooms here.
The staff that we met were all extremely helpful and friendly, the Inn itself was the cleanest Premier Inn that we have so far ever stayed in.
The room itself was spotless. Got to say that this was one of the most comfortable night's sleep that we've had in a long while.
From our room (which was ground floor) you could not hear any road traffic or any other noises from within the Premier Inn.
We also booked breakfast as an optional extra, and went for the £8.25 eat as much as you like full buffert... you just couldn't go wrong on this. There was plenty of food choices, and as we had 2 of our guests who were on a gluten free diet, there was plenty of choice with the eggs, mushrooms, bacon, tomatoes etc as well as the mixed fruits. All in all, an excellent stay, with good quality at a really good , fair price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Even if cost was not your first concern, this hotel is excellent well staffed, clean and comfortable a great place to stay if you have been on the road all day well done! The only small problem was finding the hotel in the darkour sat nav stopped around the corner about 400m away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel was great as is usually the case with any Premier Inn I have stayed in. Room was clean and well kept. Bathroom was spotless. The adjoining pub was good too. Food was great and service was very friendly. Receptionist was very friendly and check in was very efficient. I would definitely return when in the area on business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice location and a great restaurant next door. The best real ale I've had in a while! It was pie night when I arrived. A nice touch! The restaurant does get full of families with your children but it's OK. The hotel is quiet and comfy. My Satnav took me to the retail [ark but then I saw the hotel on the display. Good value hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Premier Inn Pity Me for the weekend whilst visiting friends nearby. The hotel is close to a retail park, make sure you follow the instructions given by the hotel to find it as SatNav will take you to the shopping area. The Hotel has free parking facilites, a manned 24 hr reception with vending machine selling chocolate and crisps and an information unit. We were welcomed by a friendly young man who efficently checked up in and explained where we find our room. We arrived at 00.30 at night so all was quiet. Our room was located on the upper floor with views to the rear of the hotel. The room was clean and welcoming, with tea and coffee making facilities, no hot chocolate though. There was a TV in the room with a variety of freeview channels and a hairdryer which was good. There were no ironing facilities in the room. The room was heated by a storage heater controlled independently in the room. The bed was large and quite high, gave a new meaning to climbing into bed. My husband didn't notice it until I mentioned it but he is 6ft and I am just under 5ft so I guess that's why. The bathroom was exceptionally clean, I particularly liked the way the shower curtain rail was curved so it didn't stick to you when you had a shower. The water was hot and there was gel and shampoo available on the wall units. The staff we encountered were all very nice and friendly, happy to answer any questions and did not hassle you on the day of departure like some hotels do. All in all an enjoyable stay, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a disabled room if you need a lower bed. The pub across the road is expensive for Breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing