We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel; shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good hotel; shame about the food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel could not be faulted in itself. But the food at Table Table, adjacent, was truly vile. Overcooked fish; undercooked chips; greasy overcooked gammon.... And the breakfast - we chose the 'continental option' - was a big disappointment. Stale, dry muffins and croissants; cheap, unpleasant ‘jam’.... and the tea and coffee was not good as the hot water had been standing about in urns for goodness knows how long.

As the hotel is not in central Durham, with easy access to a range of restaurants, then the pub has a 'captive' clientele. So to offer such awful food indicates that they just don't care. I don’t know how much influence Premier Inn has over the pubs which are adjacent to the hotels, so I am not sure if commenting to Premier Inn can have any effect.

I've rated the stay 'average' purely because of the experience at the 'pub'. So, although the hotel was fine, the poor food at Table Table [and the horrendous experience we had at the Oswestry Premier Inn the following night - separately reviewed] is not likely to attract us to using Premier Inns in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Llangatwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    193
    51
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
206
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A good typical example of a Premier Inn. Clean comfortable rooms in a quiet location but still close to the A1. Adjacent to the usual restaurant and bar which also serves excellent breakfasts. Ideal for a business customer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 697simonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just had a 3 night stay here. The room was spotless, food excellent (evening meal and breakfast) and the staff friendly and helpful. This is a really quiet location a couple of miles outside Durham on the edge of a business area. We visited the Castle, Cathedral and had a boat trip on the river. We also had a day in Newcastle (only 15 mins by train) where we visited the Discover Museum and the Life Centre. Our 11 year old son loved it. Very relaxed with no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billw400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here over the easter weekend and the hotel was very busy. It was very clean both in our room and all communal areas and very quiet for the whole of our 3 night stay. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful at all times. We ate breakfast at the table table restaurant next door and were all very impressed with the quality and choice of food. Overall, an excellent choice of hotel for a very good price. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Benifit of being on an industrial estate is really quiet at night and weekend. Great staff and clean rooomms to usual standards. Pub ok for evenibng meal with helpful staff....breakfast selection great and relaxed atomsphere

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincsMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff at the hotel and in the restaurant were very polite and helpful. The room was clean and tidy with no issues to report. Hotel was quite at night (Friday night stay). Can not fault any part of my families stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our second time at this Premier Inn and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a great location just off the A1 and is only a couple of miles from the centre of Durham. There is a regular bus service to get into Durham which is handy if you prefer to leave the car parked at the Premier Inn.

The Table Table pub next door is of a good standard comprising of all the usual Premier Inn meal options.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and we will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 841LeeA841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Address: New Ferens Park Broomside Park | Belmont Industrial Estate, Durham DH1 1GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#6 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the leafy outskirts of the historic county town of Durham, ideal for local business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing