We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite Italian! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Mamma

Bella Mamma
Ranked #13 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our favourite Italian! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Went here with some friends after having a look at the reviews on Tripadvisor.... We were not disappointed! The staff were lovely, the decor was very tasteful but most of all the food was sublime. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed every course and the steaks were cooked to perfection, we will definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank Steveo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    48
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ever reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have eaten twice here now since it changed from Michellangelos and it is well worth a visit. The changes to the restaurant layout are good and the atmosphere and ambience was excellent on both occasions.Staff are helpful and friendly the menu is good and quality of food has been excellent. For a meal out this place offers great value both for house wine at under £11 a bottle and reasonably priced food . Great for midweek meal or weekend treat that doesn't break the bank. Will definitely be returning .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drptf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have visited Bella Mamma since it opened. We have always been made to feel very special by the staff and our food has always been delicious. The happy hour prices on a week night are great too - despite being quite cheap, the atmosphere is still very classy and feels good quality. There are always a few different specials too, so you can have something different. So far on the specials board I've seen lobster spaghetti, duck and mussels.

The whole place is so lovely, we have recommended it to lots of people and will continue to visit regularly. Well done to all staff, and if you haven't visited yet, give it a try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S0phieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Good food and wine at very reasonable price. Great service from waiter with good sense of humour . Been twice now first time early week when it was quiet and very busy weekend, both times excellent service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This italian restaurant was a delightful surprise. When I last visited Durham to spend time with family we had the worst restaurant experience ever at Capricios in Sadler Street. I felt anxious about eating italian again in Durham but I needn't have worried. We had a lovely welcome and the waiters could not have been more helpful throughout.Splendid choice on the menu and good house wine. Prompt service and we all enjoyed what we chose. Finished off the meal with particularly good lemon sorbet. Will definitely be back on my next trip North.u

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Mamma also viewed

Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Bella Mamma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing