We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Durham - stay at the Honest Lawyer Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visit Durham - stay at the Honest Lawyer Hotel”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you are visiting Durham you can do no better than to stay at the Honest Lawyer Hotel (strange name, but don't be put off by this!) It is conveniently located on the main Darlington to Durham road at Croxdale, just south of the city. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, the buses run every 5-10 minutes and the journey into Durham takes just 10 minutes.

The hotel has well appointed motel type rooms, and a big plus for us was that they allowed us to bring our dog with us. All the staff were welcoming, friendly, and extremely helpful. The restaurant menu was original and the food of excellent quality and well prepared - the chef here really knows his stuff. There was a good selection of wines on the list and beers at the bar. Overall, a great experience, and we shall certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank peter_callon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear peter_callon,
thank you for your 5* review of the hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that everything was to your liking. As you mentioned we are pet friendly at the Honest Lawyer, with no additional charges. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    327
    141
    41
    24
See reviews for
200
374
30
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Staff are friendly and welcoming. Check in was simple and quick. The room was warm and comfortable, however the bathroom was freezing!

We booked the £99 deal. It is well worth the money! The food was exquisite, cooked and presented to a high standard! There were no restrictions on the menu, all of the dishes were included in the deal.

Te bed was comfortable and there was little noise from the nearby main road. The curtains did an excellent job of keeping the morning light out, allowing us a decent lay in.

Breakfast was delicious! The chef was consistent in standards!

An overall fantastic stay with comfort and fine dinning! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ben27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Ben27_13,
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel, i'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our popular £99 deal to be excellent value for money. I'll certainly pass your comments onto Harry & the team, they will be over the moon with your postive comments on the quality & consistency of the food. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Initially I thought this was going to be bad... booked and arrived on time for lunch but table not available in restaurant ..offered table near foyer...not good...soon rectified and meals were sizeable and tasty...would recommend...good value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saintsaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Saintsaen,
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us, it's proving to be very popular lately! As the building is all open plan we allocate tables on a first come first served basis, so if you'd like to be allocated a table in the restaurant please let us know at the time of booking, space is limited so don't forget to book early! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently attended our friends vow renewal at Croxdale church and stayed at the Honest Lawyer. It was brilliant from start to finish. The whole staff team were friendly, professional and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone from cleaners and the handyman to front of house. Every bit of food we ate was exceptional from breakfast, lunch, wedding breakfast to evening buffets. I cannot thank the staff enough and would like to especially thank Unsel, julie, Lauren and the whole of the kitchen staff. Can't wait to go again at the end of February.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Doncaster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Doncaster4,
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm pleased that you, and all of your friends had a great time at the event, we are especially proud of how everything went over the weekend, and I look forward to seeing you again in February.

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I can not comment on the standard of the hotel but this review is on the restaurant. Myself and husband have visited once in the past having ate in the bar area, the food and service was ok then. Having previously eaten in the bar we decided to eat in the restaurant. The initial service was good then dissipated towards the end. The starter of hock of ham was rather salty. The main courses; the risotto was rather watery and the chicken was a little dry if not for the chorizo would have been too tasteless. We were then left with our plates for up o 15 minutes when collected we requested the bill which was given to another couples embarrassing to all yet no polity offered to ourselves but the other couple. All in all disappointing visit which has dinted whether we shall return again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kat2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Kat2685,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, we welcome all feedback both positive and constructive. Firstly, may I apologise for the disappointing experience that you had when you visited the hotel with your husband, this is certainly not the usual standard that we aim to deliver. I have already spoken with the head chef and front of house staff following your review, who have all taken your comments on board. Unfortunately we do not always get everything right, but with feedback such as yours we can continue to work on improving our guest experience for the better. I would be very disappointed if this one experience deterred you from coming back to the hotel, and I would like to take this opportunity to personally invite you back to the hotel so that we can demonstrate our usual high standards of service. I hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future, and if there is anything that I can help you with please contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Unsal Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We thought the staff there were very professional, well presented and they all made us feel very welcome throughout our 5 night stay. We thought the food was outstanding and found the breakfast choices more than adequate.

We experienced the Steak Night (Wednesdays) from a recommendation by Julie (Front of House) and we were not disappointed, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening and thought that the offer was excellent value for money. So much so that we purchased a gift voucher for our relatives to use there.

Thanks to all at the Honest Lawyer for making our overall experience a good one and be assured that we will return in the future when we next visit our relatives in the area.

Room Tip: The A167 is a very busy road from 6.30am onwards (Mon-Fri) and we would recommend that if you are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aly_Kat362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Aly_Kat362

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the warm welcome that you received and the quality of our food. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and I look forward to welcoming your relatives to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Unsal Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We first went here about 3 years ago for a cavery lunch and it was very poor, but recent reviews tempted us back. What a difference!

Fresh, warm breads and a truly excellent, properly homemade burger. Service good and the kitchen even whipped me up some off menu, excellent onion rings. Well done for such an improvement, we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ClanClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear ClanClark,
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. I'm delighted that you can see such an improvement since you visited the hotel a few years ago, since then we have undergone extensive refurbishment throughout the hotel which included a brand new, open plan kitchen and a new kitchen team headed by Executive Head Chef Harry Bailie. Our commitment to improving the hotel has since earned us an AA Rosette two years running, and we recently received a Highest Quality Assured award from TasteDurham, which we are especially proud of. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Property: The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing