We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bouldering”

Durham Climbing Centre
Ranked #25 of 57 things to do in Durham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Durham Climbing Centre - the premier indoor bouldering venue in the North East! Durham Climbing Centre caters for every level of climber from beginner to very advanced. Whatever your age or ability, at Durham Climbing Centre there is a challenge for everyone! Suitable for ages 3 years to adults from beginner to advanced! Rock Stars Children's Club, Coffee Lounge & CAFE, Equipment Shop. FREE Adult Coaching Tuesday's from 7.30pm, FREE Core Workout Wednesday from 7.30pm. Regular events & competitions. Free Parking. Baby change facilities
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good bouldering”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A good little indoor bouldering wall. Nice variety of problems, changed with good frequency, when attending regularly you should have time to perfect the problems your stuck on before rerouting. Staff are friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lathrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurhamClimbingCentre, Owner at Durham Climbing Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! As you mention, there are always lots of new challenges to try with new problems added every Friday. We hope to see you again soon - check out our regular events and competitions like the Summer Boulder Ladder - great for tracking your progress and meeting new people.

Hope to see you at the centre soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Epic”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I love bouldering and discovered my passion for the sport when I came to the Durham Climbing Centre for my birthday about two years ago. I have been back unfortunately only one other occasion (wish I could go more) and again it was a birthday event. The place is always great fun and if you're lucky, quiet enough to have the place to yourself with only the odd two or three other climbers alongside you.

The staff are excellent, clearly enthusiastic about their sport and what they do and know what they're talking about. Only wish I could be doing the same job!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Asgardale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurhamClimbingCentre, Owner at Durham Climbing Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad you had such a positive experience and felt welcomed by the team. Everyone is very passionate about the sport and our centre to provide the best experience we can - whilst making it as FUN as possible!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great! ”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I had a great time at a friends party here, the instructor was very helpful and encouraging! The walls are great although sore fingers are inevitable!

Helpful?
1 Thank hannahlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurhamClimbingCentre, Owner at Durham Climbing Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! Great to hear you enjoyed the party, they are always lots of fun!

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The forever changing sport”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you contemplating climbung then do it. Fantastic sport and this is a fantastic place to do it. Great wall! Routes change every friday so it never gets boring. Great mix of problems from beginner to insane so great whatever your ability. Food and drink is good to from the hard rock cafe and all your essentials are stocked in the store. Staff are always willing to help and climb if you ask nicely. First came here 4 years ago and would always come back for more.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mattyBKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurhamClimbingCentre, Owner at Durham Climbing Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! Fantastic news you are enjoying and making use of all the facilities on offer. Lots of new events are planned in the coming months, if you would like to receive information first hand just sign up for our monthly newsletter on our website.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic resource for Durham”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great for older "boulderers" and so good to see children learning active skills. The tuition is excellent and a very welcoming atmosphere.First rate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurhamClimbingCentre, Owner at Durham Climbing Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! So great to hear about the positive facilities available for adults and children. Rock Stars lessons are very popular and our instructors Andy and Ryan are indeed first rate when it comes to teaching children to climb - whilst making it fun!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durham Climbing Centre also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Witton Gilbert, Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Durham Climbing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing