We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect destination in Durham”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Decking area above the river Wear
Old Elvet Bridge leads to city centre
Durham Cathedral
Kingsgate Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Oldbrooki...
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect destination in Durham”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Rented this apartment for a week's break close to where me and my husband grew up and his parents still live, we wanted somewhere close to the centre of town but not so there's any 'fallout' from city centre noise, and this place fits the bill perfectly.

It's literally just a few minutes walk from the centre of Durham and all the shops, restaurants, the Cathedral & castle and riverside walks. The private, secure parking was a huge asset - lovely to know we could leave the car in safety and the lift from car park to apartment meant no hauling our luggage up the stairs!

Apartment itself is beautiful - spacious, light and airy. You open the living room doors onto decking (south facing) which literally overhangs the banks of the river Wear and there are two rattan chairs and a small table for sitting outside. Lovely just sitting in the sun watching canoes going up and down, listening to the Cathedral bells every quarter hour.

Every possible thing you could need is in the apartment, even a Nespresso machine - and a very thoughtful welcome hamper with savoury snacks and a bottle of wine, with milk and orange juice already in the fridge.

We had a fantastic week and sad to leave - but we'll be back1

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2017
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay as we aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards,
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruiser41...
1 review
“A fabulous place to stay in pure luxury!”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just returned from a fabulous break in beautiful Durham. This apartment is ideally located just five minutes from the city centre and contains every luxury you could wish for. The apartment is tastefully decorated to a very high standard and is a credit to the owners - Chris and Wendy. The owners have thought of every small detail to make your stay a fabulous one. Immaculate throughout. Would certainly recommend to friends and family and make a return visit ourselves!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay as we aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards,
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Dear Sandra,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay as we aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards,
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adrian -F...
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riverside Perfection”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location for exploring the City and county of Durham.
Tranquil riverside location. The apartment is furnished and equipped to a high standard.
The owner met us on arrival and provided us with a very generous welcome package. He couldn't be more helpful.
Excellent secure parking with access by lift
Couldn't ask for anything more.
We will come again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Dear Adrian,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay as we aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards,
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSreview...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic apartment in the heart of Durham”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location right in the centre of Durham. The apartment was modern, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Owners provided a great hamper to help us settle in and cot and high chair for our 1 year old. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2017
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay as we aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards, Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This apartment is perfect for a trip to Durham. Despite being only 5 mins from the city centre and cathedral it is really peaceful; the only noise being people rowing on the river which was lovely.
Attention to detail in the apartment was spot on so no need to buy washing up liquid,oil, salt and pepper, milk , tea, coffee etc. There was even a bottle of wine!
Pillows soft, comfy robes, expensive toiletries. It felt like home from home.
Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2017
Hi Jo,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay as we aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards,
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G
1 review
“The perfect solution”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is an outstanding apartment which really does define luxury. Beautifully furnished and decorated with every addition you would wish. The apartment was the perfect location for us. In the centre of Durham, over-looking the river and 5 mins walk from everywhere, it could not have been better. Wendy, Chris and their delightful daughter, Bethany, are also wonderful hosts who quite clearly care about their guests even down to the addition of a chilled bottle of prosecco in the fridge as we were enjoying a family celebration. We will definitely return and I would expect other previous guests will do so as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Hi James,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay as we aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests especially when they are celebrating. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards,
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing