We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Decking area above the river Wear
Old Elvet Bridge leads to city centre
Durham Cathedral
Kingsgate Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Exceptional”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed here for two nights, wish I had stayed longer. The apartment was immaculate and extremely comfortable. The owner Wendy, who showed me round was lovely. Only a few minutes walk into the city centre, yet the apartment was so quiet and peaceful. Although my stay was in January, it was still lovely sitting out on the decking, with the lovely views of the river, watching the boats and the ducks go by. The apartment was all on one level and there was a lift down to the secure garage, so would be very suitable for anyone who has difficulty with stairs. Would give this apartment 10 stars if I could. Will be booking again for certain.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2017
Hi Margaret,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan R
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed December 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We visit Durham once or twice a year and this was by far and awaythe best accommodation we have used. Not cheap but well worth the f fee. We would have loved a super King bed but you can't win em all !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2016
Hi Alan,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKBGlasgo...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Very peaceful, comfortable and fabulous locatiom”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very nicely-kept apartment. The interior is lovely and the private deck over the river is an idyllic spot to sit and watch the river life - rowers, ducks and many other birds.

Very easy check-in and departure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
"Thank you for choosing to stay in our Riverside apartment. We are so pleased that you found your accommodation comfortable and that our efforts to make your stay as pleasant and stressless as possible have been successful. Kind regards Chris and Wendy"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JECW_57
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So comfortable”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our second stay in this lovely apartment. Fabulous location, excellent car parking, well equipped, extremely comfortable, nicely decorated apartment. Delicious 'welcome basket'. Super easy and efficient hand over of keys and check out. Thank you for another happy stay in Durham!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2016
Thank you once again for choosing to stay in our Riverside apartment. We are so pleased that you found your accommodation comfortable and that our efforts to make your stay as pleasant and stressless as possible have been successful.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrfamil...
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for 'the big meeting'”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautiful apartment in Durham next to the river. We came to see the Gala and were perfectly placed a few meters away from the county hotel where we were able to watch the bands March past on the way to the race course.... in fact we could see and hear them coming over the bridge at 7.30am.The apartment is stunning and Chris and Wendy's northern hospitality and generosity is superb. Chris met us and showed us around. You don't need to take much with you as milk and fresh orange in the fridge and tea coffee sugar and nespresso machine all provided along with port, wine crisps nuts & biscuits . Every little detail has been thought of from high quality wine glasses and crockery to bedding and toiletries in bathrooms with robes and fluffy towels it is spotlessly clean. Lovely comfy sofa large telly and iPod docking station made for a luxurious stay. Great outdoor deck to watch the rowers and the boat cruise. We weren't troubled by any noise and on Sunday morning there was a quite a rare unusual multiagency emergency training exercise on the river and we didn't hear a thing although my husband was a bit surprised on his way to church to see actors with bandages staggering around and fireman running around! We had our family visit on Sunday afternoon and had plenty of room for them to sit and with the patio door open onto the deck by river it felt spacious and relaxing . We will definitely return again . Beautiful apartment made even more special by owners generosity Thank you both .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Hi to the Carr family,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Riverside apartment and soaked up the atmosphere of the Durham Miners Gala to the maximum. It was a[pleasure to meet and greet your family and we do hope you return soon.

Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart N
1 review
“Super apartment”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A very well appointed, spotlessly clean apartment. Great location right by the river (but beware the VERY noisy party boat that cruises up and down) and right in the centre of the city too. Chris and Wendy are super hosts and they present the apartment beautifully.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean and great presentation
Liked least: Noisy party boat on the river at weekends
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
147192sus...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riverside Apartment”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were welcomed warmly to the apartment and shown around. We enjoyed our stay in this well appointed apartment with riverside views. We appreciated the underground parking and the closeness to the shops and restaurants in Durham. We especially enjoyed sitting on the outside decking in the sunshine and watching the rowing boats go past us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
"Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all your lovely comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing