We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, beautifully furnished with...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Decking area above the river Wear
Old Elvet Bridge leads to city centre
Durham Cathedral
Kingsgate Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
liz442
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, beautifully furnished with attention to the little details”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We were very well looked after - with Molton Brown Shower and Bath items, a lovely welcome basket with wine and nibbles really added a touch of luxury and made us feel very welcome.

Its a great little set up watching the rowers from the balcony as well as the world go by.

The only small thing was I had to give the water tank boost to heat it up for a bath as the hot water ran out quite quickly in bath terms but had been shown where this was and it might be required so not a major thing at all and had no issues with hot water in the shower, so still 5 stars

We will definitely go back to this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcome pack and quality of decor
Liked least: forgetting to boost the hot water for a bath
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2013
Thank you ever so much for comments and the really encouraging feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we aim to please. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Durham City.

Kind Regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraHay
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Delightful place to stay...”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Absolutely lovely place...right on the river looking out towards the cathedral. You really are right in the midst of the city. Organisation & details were excellent, instructions easy to follow. Can't thank the owners enough. Would love to return again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamsH...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely accommodation”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We had a lovely stay, the location is very central so perfect for seeing Durham and waking up to a river view was lovely. Flat was very spacious and great for our one year old to run around in. Also decorated for Christmas which we thought was a lovely touch. Thankyou - we will definitely be back and recommending to our friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially at this time of year when Durham is so beautiful. We look forward to seeing you again.

Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls99
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent riverside apartment”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed in the apartment with our 10 week old newborn and it was a perfect setting for us. The owners were very nice and flexible which was great, the apartment was ideal and very modern, and the location was superb being just a short walk from all that Durham has to offer.
Some nice little added touches as well, would certainly recommend this to others wanting a comfortable central location in Durham.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We were more than happy to accommodate your beautiful baby. It is so pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoej2000
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

stayed here for 3 days with my 16 month old daughter. the owners kindly provided extras for the baby on request. met ,me at the hotel nearby as i was unsure of loacationa. and nothing was too much trouble for the owners we were made to feel very welcome the apartment itself is lovely the bed was very comfy and everything you needed was there even a posh coffee machine. we met both the owners and they were very friendly and helpfull and even sent some one to show me how to work the coffee maker. the only problem i have is i wanted to book again and unsurprisingly it is fully booked. will definately be visiting again and will make sure i book well in advance. highly reccomend this apartment :)

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We aim to please and aim to make every guest as comfortable as possible. We hope you choose to book with us again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port-worl...
mellieha
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Booked this apartment rather than staying at the Marriott Hotel as were visiting for a Wedding. The location was spot on for the Hotel and Durham city, right in the heart with riverside views. 5* it certainly was. Had everything you needed from towels, dressing gowns, hairdryer, shampoo etc. The welcome pack was very much appreciated with best coffee ever.The beds was super comfy, everything was of a very high quality, spotless clean. The little attention to deatail was catered for with magazines, umbrellas and even sweets in a bowl. Allocated parking is a big bonus as Durham City is a nightmare for this. Arrived to a wonderful reception and shown around whilst been given some helpful advice by a very pleasant young man. As I have Family in Durham I would not book into a Hotel again if this was available and could not recommend this apartment highly enough book, you will not be disappointed. Will definately be booking again, thank you Chris for providing this hidden gem, (although I have a feeling it will not be for long :) )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2013
Thank you ever so much for fantastic feedback which provides us with accurate guidance and shows our efforts are worthwhile. We aim to make our guests stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Durham City.

Kind Regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy H
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Holiday Apartment in the perfect location”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this apartment for a long weekend away with our 18 month old baby and everything about our stay from booking right through to departure was impeccable. The location of this very spacious property is perfect, with stunning views over the river and the standard of the accommodation is fantastic. Added to this the extremely helpful owner, the very generous welcome goodies and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, we really could not fault anything about our stay. We will certainly recommend this apartment to our friends and hope to visit again ourselves in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Many thasnk
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing