We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful - highly recommended”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
99 reviews
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Original Artwork in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Slipper Bath and Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Rleaxing Living Room in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sunshine in Durham!
Feature Spiral Staircase in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Hydro-Massage Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sumptuous Double Bed in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Stylish Dining Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Historic Street View from Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Upstairs Lounging Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Ultimate 5-sytar relaxation in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Recline on the Drift Chair in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
traveller...
Manchester
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful - highly recommended”
Reviewed January 28, 2011 for a stay in July 2010

We rented both apartments and found them to be kitted out to an excellent standard, and were delighted especially by the high quantity and quality of the extras provided (wine, milk, bread, butter, plentiful toiletries and fully-stocked kitchen cupboards!). I've stayed in many other apartments but none have come close to these ones.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaa...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stayed Twice in once in each apartment both superb”
Reviewed January 28, 2011 for a stay in May 2010

Stayed in the Moonlight apartment first around March 10 with friends, loved it so much that went back to show my mum and grandfather the sights of Durham in May 10 at the Oasis apartment.

First apartment in blew myself and friends away. It was comfortable yet stylish and had a architect made feel to it. The little touches such as the automatic blinds in the master bedroom and separate living area on second floor made it original but homely. The location is in the centre of 'Old Durham', short walk to the cathedral and near to the Marriott hotel.

Second apartment was also comfortable and stylish. I liked that there were two bathrooms within this property which drew my mum to this one. The kitchen in both apartments was well equipped. The second apartment is further back in the block than the first so is a bit quieter but also a bit darker as a result. This is not a negative concern just a passing comment. The layout with a large double and good sized single was perfect for three people and the living space could easily fit 6 people comfortably.

Ray (the owner) is an excellent host. He is friendly and approachable and leaves plenty of information for you should you not know Durham. He also lets you use the free safe underground parking for your stay which is a bonus in Durham. Couldn't speak more highly of the accommodation and would defiantly be visiting again soon and I have recommended to several people. Thanks Ray.

We ate one evening in the Cellar Door, its on the road leading up the the cathedral hidden away down some dark stairs. You can eat out on the park terrace overlooking the river and bridge views which was lovely. The Court Inn which is off the main road away from the centre is good for a cheap hearty pub lunch with tons of food in a friendly atmosphere.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslyn S
York, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our second stay and we have booked a third!”
Reviewed December 7, 2010 for a stay in November 2010

We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Durham, and have already booked a return visit. The apartment is spacious, yet cozy, elegant yet comfortable. Its location is fantastic, and we enjoy watching the students and town folk from the windows, which look down on a bustling and interesting main street into Durham. We feel safe here, and need not go far for restaurants, shops, and those amazing English pubs. Upscale amenities, well stocked kitchen,













great TV service...we love it here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club646
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Perfect location and amenities in the heart of Durham”
Reviewed March 21, 2010 for a stay in November 2009

Our son is an international student at Durham, and we wanted an apartment so that we could feel at home while visiting with him and his friends for several days over Thanksgiving. Suitable vacation apartments are scarce in Durham, and a bit pricey compared to other UK locations. Our search was made more arduous because of our specific wants and needs: a place with character (old but functional and clean), a good bed, bathtub, modern kitchen, high-speed wireless internet service, short walking distance to food shops, the castle, cathedral, pubs, a fireplace, bright containing lots of windows to observe the comings and goings of townsfolk and students, and finally, WARM ( we're thin-blooded Floridians). We booked Moonlight because it appeared to meet our needs. In reality, it exceeded our expectations! ...except for the dining room chairs, which we found uncomfortable. We have already booked a return trip to Moonlight...what better recommendation is there?

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancsGill
Lancs
1 review
“Luxurious and cosy at the same time.”
Reviewed March 18, 2010 for a stay in January 2010

Excellent location and really comfy bed! Free underground parking which is a real bonus in the city.

Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockWorc...
worcester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very comfortable apartment,noisy students at night.”
Reviewed February 25, 2010 for a stay in November 2009

As above.very helpful owner. Very central,everywhere in walking distance,restaurants,castle,cathedral.Basis of a great w/e.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2010
Yes, the Durham students can sometimes be lively - our equally lovely Durham Oasis Apartment is in the same building, but set a little further back from the street, so this may be better if you need absolute quiet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussietra...
australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an appartment with character”
Reviewed February 23, 2010 for a stay in September 2009
1
person found this review helpful

a well situated appartment close to the old town of Durham. The appartment is well appointed and we particulalrly enjoyed the food in the kitchen left for us as a welcome. there was plenty of information about Durham in the appartment, together with reccomendations (which we took) for places to eat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing