We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class accommodation and easy access on foot...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
101 reviews
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Original Artwork in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Slipper Bath and Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Rleaxing Living Room in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sunshine in Durham!
Feature Spiral Staircase in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Hydro-Massage Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sumptuous Double Bed in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Stylish Dining Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Historic Street View from Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Upstairs Lounging Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Ultimate 5-sytar relaxation in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Recline on the Drift Chair in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joan H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class accommodation and easy access on foot to the city centre from the flat”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

First trip to Durham arrived at the flat and our first impression was excellent. It has been beautifully furnished and everything is there for your stay and we could not think of anything that was omitted to ensure you had very comfortable holiday. Friendly city and people which makes it a very good place for a break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thought that had gone to make the flat a place you were happy to relax
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clark7Shr...
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5 star looks but thats as far as it goes ... !!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stay Sept 17+18th. Booked, based on the location and how great it looked on the website. Also the glowing reviews .... !!!??? Booking process and directions great. Arrived early on the 17th & parked in underground reserved parking space - all good !! Trek to the apartment is OK but there was a rather strange smell in the corridor on the way to the apartment and the state of the carpet could be better ...
Got to apartment where all was explained by the girl who met us. Initial reaction good ... the apartment looked much like it did on the website ... happy days !!!
However on closer inspection, less happy days ...
Living room area : TV in a horrible place above tall fireplace ... that may be personal taste. . Dodgy wiring coming out of side of a wall socket for speakers. Seating while very on trend, actually quite uncomfortable. Carpet needed a hoover. Layer of dust on top of low level wall unit / bookcase...actually wrote 'please clean me' on it.
Kitchen : Basically grimy ... not cleaned well at all ... it just had that sticky feel. Floor filthy !!All crockery seemed stained ... washed them before we would use them. It all felt a bit cheap and nasty. Washing machine as we were advised was a bit dodgy ... we wouldn't have touched it anyway. Nice touch was slab of butter left in fridge ... apparently unable to get bread so there was a pack of crumpets (1 day past their sell by date ...don't bother...really !!!) Also some Lidl nuts and Lidl chocolate ... nice touch & nothing against Lidl ...but it doesn't scream 5 star does it !!!
Upstairs in the eaves... no comment really ...didn't spend any time up there but just a note - watch your fingers don't get trapped on the hand rail ...
Bathroom : Even grimier than the kitchen ... Toilet filthy ...first thing we bought in Durham was actually toilet wipes and bleach !! The sink with the wobbly tap is so stupid it is actually quite funny. The power shower ... OK that was good when you worked out how to use it but still needs a clean !!! I actually found an old razor behind the shower head which looked years old !!!! Used the shower as the bath looked filthy. Used our own towels as the towels supplied didn't look good at all ....
Bedroom : Comfy bed. Elecrically operated curtains ...wow ..If you're the type of person who is impressed by that you will probably give the place 5 stars.
Sleeping ... the large windows and the location near the road don't make for a good nights sleep, even with the secondary glazing. If you are a light sleeper beware !!
View : Well its OK but really not all that ... mainly a main road and a view of the Marriott (we wish we had booked) ... If you crane your neck at one widow you can see the top of the cathedral.
Location : Great ....
Listen ... it probably sounds like we are some sort of OCD suffering nut jobs who just don't recognise and appreciate quality when we see it. Based on the other reviews we began to think it ourselves. But we are quite normal and we know what's clean and and what isn't ...
Durham is lovely !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The electric bin in the kitchen
Liked least: The cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
Gosh! We certainly failed on the cleaning that time, thanks for letting us know. Sorry about that. We will of course be having a serious conversation with the housekeeping staff.. so thanks for taking the trouble to review. Wobbly tap has been fixed, and wires neatened up. Usually we have non-Lidl sources for provisions, will check what happened there and regarding out-of-date stuff that was inexcusable and won't happen again. Glad you enjoyed Durham and at least some aspects of the apartment!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maureen R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect location - a delightful flat”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay - ideally situated and very cosy and comfortable, we were welcomed by Sharon who was invaluable with advice during our stay as well as showing us round the flat. The weather was even perfect with cloudless blue skies and we could potter from the flat to the coffee shop and back to partake of a small sherry (courtesy of the host) and play with the motion-activated bin!!!! We will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliantalf...
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

After reading previous reviews I felt confident that I had made a good choice, I was not disappointed! The attention to detail is excellent and it seems that every eventuality has been catered for! Lovely bathroom, soft towels, delightful toiletries all added to a very comfortable stay. This appartment is in a great location everything is in easy reach and we would definitely consider staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decoration
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visiting...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient comfortable accomodation”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great alternative to a hotel in Durham. Very centrally located and well appointed. Friendly welcome received, milk in the fridge and some other nibbles there too.

Will certainly stay again.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomshires
2 reviews
“:):) best holiday ever EVERYTHING FANTASTIC!! :)”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

MOONLIGHT APARTMENT ALL THE WAY!! Well what can I say DEFANETLY! go again.. Food was great the rooms was clean n tidy it was nice and chilled n well the staff wat can I say well they was very nice and polite and very very helpful :):) next year can not come quick enough :) :) I recommend this to anyone.... :D

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giraffe47
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely modern apartment in very convenient location.”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Perfect for a break in Durham. Finishing touches were excellent. Great location next to restaurants and shops. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Ray!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: Liked everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing