We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“High living in Durham”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
103 reviews
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Original Artwork in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Slipper Bath and Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Rleaxing Living Room in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sunshine in Durham!
Feature Spiral Staircase in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Hydro-Massage Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sumptuous Double Bed in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Stylish Dining Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Historic Street View from Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Upstairs Lounging Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Ultimate 5-sytar relaxation in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Recline on the Drift Chair in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 103 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GB1_9
Brackley
1 review
“High living in Durham”
Reviewed May 12, 2009 for a stay in April 2009

Excellent friendly welcome from Ray when we arrived. We also found the info sent to us prior to our arrival really useful as we had never visited Durham before.
The apartment is well situated with everything on your doorstep or an easy walk away. There is some traffic/street noise at 'rush hour' but this is not a big city so it soon passes.
Safe, secure parking means you can park your car and forget about it, Durham is best seen on foot.
The apartment itself is clean, tidy and perfect for relaxing in. As a family of four there was plenty of room for us and so much better than a family room in some nondescript hotel.
The only downside we could find is the slight whiff generated by the antique plumbing in the bathroom. However this is a minor point in what is a really pleasant place to stay for a few days.

Date of stay: April 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2009
Thanks for the briilliant review. Sorry about the slight whiff, we are investigating this. We usually remember to advise guests to leave the plug in the bath in place when it's not in use, as occasionally the wind in a certain direction can defeat the normally effective water trap.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieBeth
Scotland
1 review
“Stylish, comfortable apartment in perfect location for short break”
Reviewed May 11, 2009 for a stay in February 2009

Stayed four nights in February with husband and teenage son. Moonlight apartment is very centrally situated with safe secure parking. The apartment has been well-designed and is elegant but cosy, offering greater comfort and privacy than a hotel. As always it is the small things that can make a big difference and we appreciated the welcome and information provided by Ray. We enjoyed exploring Durham and further afield and found lots to do in a short time but it was always a pleasure to come back to the apartment and relax!

Date of stay: February 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaChristi...
Atlanta, Ga
1 review
“A lovely apartment with a great location”
Reviewed May 11, 2009 for a stay in December 2008

The apartment was just lovely and accomodated 3 adults just fine; the bathrooms were very luxurious. The little treats left for us were a really nice touch. The entire apartment-furniture, carpet, bath and kitchin fixtures all appeared to be new and of the upgraded variety. If there was anything that I "liked the least" was that the mattress was a bit too hard. Our goal was to have a really great Christmas in my favorite town-and even though some of the appliances were a little bit different than what we are used to in the US, the instructions provided were great and we had quite the feast. Thank you for a delightful visit!

Date of stay: December 2008
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton3
Norwich, Norfolk
1 review
“The wow factor”
Reviewed May 10, 2009 for a stay in April 2009

We were met on our arrival and Ray then gave us a quick guide to how everything worked in the apartment. It was bigger than I thought it would be, clean and a real home from home. Our son is now coming up to 13 and last time we went away stayed in a "family room" at a hotel, which is just a normal room with an extra bed in it. He was so pleased to have a room of his own, complete with flat screen TV
The secure parking on site is also a bonus, again city hotels often can only offer a discount on a car park off site.
There was a handy guide which covered just about everything, from how to work the washing machine to where to get a good value evening meal. Ray was also only a phone call away to answer any queries we had.
Durham centre is just a short stroll away, and there is lots to see in and around the area.

Date of stay: April 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
necta
Birmingham
1 review
“Wonderful apartment - felt very much at home”
Reviewed May 10, 2009 for a stay in March 2009

Our welcome to the apartment was lovely
Great just to be able to walk to the town
Under ground parking great

Date of stay: March 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather W
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Apartment helped make my stay the best it could be...”
Reviewed May 9, 2009 for a stay in February 2009

The Apartment was in a fantastic location just off the river in Durham - you could actually see the Cathedral out of one of the windows ... though the main views were of the street outside which was no bad thing either. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful and very unobtrusive.

The place was decorated and furnished to a high standard with all amenities that one would expect to have in ones own home - a lovely touch was the bottle of wine, snacks and croissants provided for the first mornings breakfast. The beautiful attic bedroom and spiral staircase made the apartment just that little bit more interesting than the norm. The main bedroom was comfortable and had plenty of storage space for clothes etc - and even included a remote control to open the curtains electronically! Quirky but nice. The bathroom was beautiful and well laid out too. The red leather sofa in the living room was beautiful and extremely comfortable ... and the view from it interesting.

I would say that the only thing which counted against it was the entrance hall and stairs outside - but that didnt matter once the door was shut behind you and you were inside. It was fairly large and open but the owner had created a very cosy feel to it.

All in all - The apartment was a pleasure to come back to each night after being out and about sight seeing and made my stay memorable. I would most definitely stay there again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else.

Heather
London

Date of stay: February 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore...
Singapore
1 review
“spatious, well appointed, comfortable: ideally situated and good value”
Reviewed May 9, 2009 for a stay in April 2009

If I'd had more time, I'd have taken better advantage of this confortable apartment in the heart of the city. And at such good value. I'll certainly be back.

Date of stay: April 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing