We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, trendy, convenient with very...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
108 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Kirsty B
Walkerburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable, trendy, convenient with very amenable owner”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a great find! From the super central location, excellent free parking, comfortable furniture to the attractive decor with a unique and trendy feel, we were delighted with Moonlight apartment. Ray was really helpful and provided us with lots of local info within the apartment itself and was then happy to give us pointers once we were there. It was the perfect setting for our 40th birthday celebrations (friends from university days 20 years ago) and we will certainly spread the word amongst our friends and family, should they ever come to Durham. Thanks also for the v generous welcome pack of wine, crisps, port, breakfast items & tea and coffee!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor & convenience
Liked least: No dislikes!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate551
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great apartment in fabulous location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Great apartment in fabulous location. The blurb about the apartment on the website is a bit over the top The shower, toilet seat and kitchen were given special mention therefore expectation were high, but they were nothing special. But the rest of the apartment is stylishly decorated and well equipped. The beds are really comfortable. The lounge/dining area has a window looking out the whole length of the road and is fabulous for people watching from the sofa. Really buzzy atmosphere when we visited and the owner was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying there.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the chunky crockery
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Thanks for your enthusiastic review of Moonlight Apartment. You've reminded me I really must update the website after 7 years - fashions change, and technology advances, even in toilet seats and showers!...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne W
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful modern apartment in a the centre of Durham.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We were met and everything explained.This apartment has electric curtains,wrap around sound,an italian shower--sherry decanter left and chocolates.We had no disturbance from student noise.It felt very safe and secure. A 5 star place.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The river came up and flooded the garage but we were warned and removed our car.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJudgeM...
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Durham”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

These apartments are really good no complaints great location , great parking, great facilities - one tiny problem though, the tvs in the bedroom only get a few channels despite being free view, must have a problem with the aerial or dish.

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsy008
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

I booked this apartment for myself and family to stay in as my son was getting married in Durham. The apartment was lovely and unlike other rental apartments that can feel clinical, this really felt like home with nice little touches like fruit and flowers. My future daughter had booked an apartment elsewhere in the city for the night before her wedding but we ended up swapping so that she could have our Oasis.
Would certainly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayorkshir...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“City Central.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The apartments we had were fine but unfortunatly quite dirty.. which we were
surprised about.
The TV in the single bedroom didnt work and as luck falls was probably
the only one we wanted. (My 14 year old Grandson was in the room). I am sure
Ray would have sorted it but as we were only there 2 nights It didnt seem worth
the bother.
I would stay there again but would ask for a thorough clean first. And of course
take ear plugs.

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review - naturally I'm worried that our cleanliness fell short of the mark during your stay. The cleaning standards for the 5-star Visit Britain rating against which we are assessed are pretty rigorous, and that's the standard we aim to maintain throughout the year. Happily we have just had our annual inspection from Visit Britain and have kept our five stars! I can only think that our cleaners missed something this time and I didn't pick it up either: sorry. One of them has just produced a baby, so possibly her attention was elsewhere...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel2951
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“A True Oasis”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Ray was waiting, as he said he would be, on our arrival and was very friendly and welcoming. He helped us with our case up to the apt showing us how to use keys, heaters, where to find hairdryer etc, as well as giving us info on where to eat and local attractions.and said he was only a phone call away if we had any problems or needed help. The Moonlight apt is spacious,spotless, decorated and equipped to a very high standard with everything you could possibly need, very central for the city and the extra luxuries of a nice bottle of wine and breakfast in the fridge, chocolate and crisps was a really nice touch. The toiletries in the bathrooms were also luxurious. The building has a lift so anyone who has mobility difficulties needn't worry. A really great place to stay. Thank you Ray

Date of stay: March 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.