We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very User Friendly Apartment!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
99 reviews
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Original Artwork in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Slipper Bath and Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Rleaxing Living Room in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sunshine in Durham!
Feature Spiral Staircase in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Hydro-Massage Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sumptuous Double Bed in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Stylish Dining Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Historic Street View from Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Upstairs Lounging Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Ultimate 5-sytar relaxation in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Recline on the Drift Chair in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wasabe88
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very User Friendly Apartment!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had booked and stayed at this apartment during each of our three trips to Durham while our daughter studied at the universaity college from years 2009 to 2012. We were impressed with the owner Ray's thoughtfulness like stocking of welcoming bottle of wine, soup and bread for a quick snack for late check-in guests and fruit juices for breakfast etc. The apartment is well furnished and with a fullly loaded AV system and a box full of movie CD. The children are never bore if they are too young to go bar hopping at night! Clear instruction and phone number of F&B outlets in town (remember to mention Moonlight Apartment to get your discount!).It is so user freindly in everyway from the greeting and assistance in taking your luggages up 3 flights of stairs etc to a well-stocked kitchen. While my family and I thoruoghtly had enjoyed staying at this quiet and beautifully furnished apartment very much; we have to caution that this apartment is not meant for the physically challenge guests as there is no lift to the second floor apartment!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2012
Many thanks for the great review of Moonlight Apartment - the lift to the second floor will, we hope, be back in action by 14 November 2012. It suffered from an excess of water in the bottom of the liftshaft (where it terminates in the underground car park) during the torrential rain in October! Until then, I'll be delighted to help guests heave their luggage up the stairs...
Ray Broadbridge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loubear85
Padstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Every detail thought of”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We booked the Moonlight Apartments for the weekend to attend a wedding. I was very happy with the efficiency of the owner in giving directions and meeting us at the apartment. On our arrival we found that not only was the apartment beautifully decorated but also everything was thought of from providing basic ingredients for our first breakfast to leaving a bottle of wine in the fridge for our stay. In addition the apartment couldn't be closer to the city centre and was very quiet due to the secondary glazing.
We will definitely use this company again on our return to Durham.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADALOV...
ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try it - you will love it”
Reviewed February 1, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Moonlight apartments for one night Jan 21st 2012 - A xmas box form our son and his fiancee -Warm welcome from Ray - Lovely apartment - nice touches - wine,chocs ect - very welcome - it is home from home and so nice we did not even go out in the evening preferring to enjoy our surroundings. A little noisy but would not put us of going back to this very unique place in a great location -we hope to be back soon - thankyou ray.-

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DadTravel...
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Outstanding location”
Reviewed December 27, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I can recommend Moonlight apartments, with some small caveats. If you are prepared to deal with some quirks, and the fact it is on a main street, it is a good place to stay on your visit to Durham.

Is the location good?
Yes. Brilliant. It is a really short walk into town, including to the cathedral and anywhere you want to go. Further, with secure parking, it is very easy to get in and out of town from where the apartment is located.

What is the apartment like?
I say quirky, others would say modern. It is one of those places that is very much setup for a couple – though we stayed with kids and it was fine for that. The furniture was nice. The kitchen was setup well (though could do with some more practical crockery), and clearly well setup for a party! I loved the light and the way that the windows all opened for air. The upstairs loft room where the kids stayed was good though be warned: the stairs up are narrow and steep!

But are the beds comfortable?
Well, not great, but not bad either. The main issue is the noise from the street, in particular the police sirens from the police station up the street. Bring ear plugs and you’ll be fine.

Was there Wifi?
Yes.

Was it Quiet?
No. This is on a main street. Be prepared and you won’t have any issues.

Were the appliances ok?
Fine. The dishwasher is small, and like a lot in England the combined washer/dryer s-l-o-w. Overall everything functional.

Anything special?
Ray is a nice host – happy to meet, happy to fix stuff and help.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ynottrave...
new delhi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If available, don't think twice”
Reviewed October 16, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Ray Broadbridge has created an oasis in the Durham. Location is fabulous, opposite the Marriott. Parking available. On the edge of the pedestrianised walk way to the Marketplace and Cathedral.
Contemporary decor. Huge windows which give the view of the high street.
A start up kit is provided which really helps, unlike a number of UK serviced apartments I have stayed in.
Ray is available on phone, in case we run into trouble, which I did, as I could not figure out how to run the dishwasher.
Be careful to always display your parking permit in the basement parking. We got a ticket, imagine - in a private parking area, as I forgot to dislpay the ticket.
Bathroom is luxurious, with a shower panel and a Victorian tub.
The bed in the master bedroom is quite small, and it gave my husband a chance to snuggle up and sleep with me. So we are not complaining.
A spiral staircase leads to the 2nd bedroom which can actually sleep 3 more persons.
Kitchen is really nice and compact.
Convenience store are close by, very easily walkable.
I would not stay anywhere else, if Moonlight was available.

My only advice the Ray: Please provide refills of toiletries, bulbs and tissues as some of us just done carry them.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2011
Thank you so much for the brilliant review. It's a bit of a dielemma for us knowing how great a supply of toiletries, etc, to leave - but we will certainly increase this for longer stays such as yours. And I'll replenish the stock of lightbulbs, of course. Parking - the firm who now control our car park are simply too enthusiastic, I'm afraid, so we just have to help our guests to be vigilant.
Best regards
Ray Broadbridge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carra2
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice apartment in convenient location”
Reviewed September 9, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

A very nice apartment in the centre of Durham. Everything you needed was there and nice touch of croissants and wine provided.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HutchY3
So Cal.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place in Durham”
Reviewed September 8, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My colleague and I had work in Durham for the month of July and opted to stay in this apartment, rather than in a hotel. It was a great decision on our part. The apartment is well-appointed and spacious. The windows are nearly floor to ceiling and offer a good deal of light. All of the windows have light-blocking shades that do the trick for sleep. The appliances and utensils cover everything you would ever need. The housekeeping service comes by once a week and gives the place a going-over. Ray, the owner is consciencious and responsive to any request. For example, the flushing panel for the toilet was broken and he came the next day to fix it. The parking space downstairs is perfect and absolutely needed because street parking nearby is metered. The location is right in the middle of town, close to pubs, coffee shops, and restaurants. As other reviews have mentions, this apartment runs along a main street in Durham and does receive a fair amount of street noise. The downstairs bedroom was loud and I had to wear earplugs when the windows were open, but all the windows are double-paned, which reduces the disturbance considerably. There is also an upstairs finished attic that was quite comfortable. The windows are smaller, but that reduced the noise as well. We enjoyed our stay a great deal and would recommend this apartment to our friends!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Traveling group: Business
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing